We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular atmosphere, glorious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Greenman to your Saves list
The Greenman
Fownhope HR1 4PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Spectacular atmosphere, glorious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautifully restored coaching inn with a warm atmosphere and superb food well presented. The fillet steak is to die for! We plan our weekends away around a visit to the Green Man and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
64
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Herefordshire seems to be such a sad contradiction in that it offers such a wealth of fine produce yet has so few places to eat to which one feels impelled to return; the Greenman is one of them.

It was recommended to us by someone who had not visited it since it was refurbished and he spoke very well of it as it was. We first visited a little over 18 months ago after its reopening and must have returned to eat there at least 20 times since, which surely speaks for itself! Were it within easy walking distance as it is for those who live in the delightful village of Fownhope and we could treat it as our "local", we'd probably be well on the way to bankruptcy by now!

Parking is easy and convenient; the location, close to the glorious Wye, is a delight. The refurbishment has been carried out with great imagination. The service is consistently excellent - efficient, observant and pleasant but never overbearing - and we are always made to feel most welcome. The Greenman is family run - and it shows - although I'm sure that we are far from alone in missing Ramon and Sue now that they're no longer putting in their appearances! The talented chef has never once let us down, his offerings being consistently very fine and occasionally excellent even beyond the high expectations to which the Greenman has long since accustomed us.

We have had about four stays there and, whilst Room 10 is our favourite room and is a decent size with a little balcony overlooking the always well-kept garden, it has no bedside tables and the noise from an extractor on the side of the neighbouring Wye Leisure Centre can be something of a nuisance and appears to be 24/7. Some of the other rooms are rather small and certainly not really best equipped for long stays (wardrobe space being quite limited). Bathrooms have been refurbished beautifully and at considerable expense, although some are a little cramped.

We had the most delightful New Year's Eve experience there almost a year ago and a Spanish evening at the end of last March was truly spectacular; a few more such special occasions might not be a bad idea - so, on with that thinking cap, Felipe!...

Overall, we are very fond of the place and have just booked once again for lunch in three days' time.

All in all, the Greenman is one of Herefordshire's real gems!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Green Man stepped in when another local Country pub let us down 3 days before my son's 18th Birthday Party. It was no trouble for them to cater for all 12 of us and they looked after us impeccably. The staff were lovely, friendly and very professional and truly made my son's 18th b'day party a day to remember. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and enjoyed by us all. Thank you Green Man for a fantastic party and we will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Lovely old hotel in the middle of the village. Plenty of off road parking. Good size room with a comfortable bed but no drawer space. Pleasant quite large shower room. Interesting fusion of very old and very new styles.
Food excellent. really good dinner and generous breakfast of good quality products. service helpful but needs a bit more training.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a night or two make sure you get a room with cupboard space. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had lunch here on the 3rd November 2012 with My Mother In Law on her birthday. The meals were of excellent quality supported by excellent service. A joy to return and we will be back but next time it will be for dinner. I can hardly wait!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived with my husband and our daughter to a friendly courteous welcome, everything just kept getting better from that point on. The Rooms were clean and very well set out while staying true to the six hundred year old building. All the staff were helpful, the food was fantastic, we enjoyed our first night so much that we stayed another night. I am telling all my friends in Australia about this experience.

Room Tip: Always ask to view the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here for my mum's birthday and I'll definately be going back again. The food was really nice, well presented and decent portions sizes - can fit 3 courses in without struggling to finish or being left too hungry at the end. The staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. The Green Man inn is split into a bar, sit down restaurant and an area with sofas and arm chairs where we retired to for a coffee at the end of our meal.
I'd recommend a visit to anyone who happens to be in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenman

Address: Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel Fownhope
The Greenman Fownhope, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.