We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost at night in heavy rain near Hereford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowens Bed and Breakfast

The Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bowens Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Bowens Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fownhope HR1 4PS , England (Formerly The Bowens Country Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Szentendre, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lost at night in heavy rain near Hereford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Dog tired from travelling all day from Budapest Hungary, the signpost to Hereford told me I had only a few miles to go. Enough was enough. As their own accomodation was booked, the helpful Wye Valley Leisure Club receptionists made a call to Claire Braybrook at the Bowens. 2 mins later I met her and was given spotless warm room, internet and peace! Helpful to the last moment, she also provided me with emergency shaving kit found to be missing before the delicious breakfast the following morning. By 08.15 I was away again with vows to return. Great place, nice family and terribly helpful..... few like it! Well done. Jock MacKenzie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I'm sorry we never responded to your review of the Bowens B&B last year; many thanks for your great comments and please think of us when you next need to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very clean, tidy and comfortable Bed & Breakfast in a lovely village
we were only there for 2 nights but the family could not have been more
welcoming and we would like to praise the quality of the breakfast
which alone is worth the visit (even better than the Ritz, which we
experienced a short time ago)
We will definitely return when the occasion arises
D & P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I'm sorry we never responded to your review of the Bowens B&B last year; many thanks and please think of us when you next need to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A delightful B&B: friendly welcome, comfortable rooms and wonderful home-cooked breakfasts.
My wife had to leave at 6am to collect our daughter and take her to a dressage competition, so Claire kindly laid up a breakfast tray the night before for her to eat in the bedroom. We stayed in one of the ensuite annexe rooms, which was ideal for a quiet departure without disturbing other guests. I was able to depart later and enjoy the delicious breakfast!
We ate out locally both evenings, and can recommend both the Green Man "gastro"-pub and the Wyeside Health Club restaurant - both within easy walking distance. The Wyeside is just beyond the pub and can be reached by walking through to the back of the pub car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll come here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The owners of The Bowens, Claire & Kevin, could not have been more friendly and helpful to our party of 12 adults. The accommodation was spotless and very comfortable. Everything was done
to make our week-end enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for them, which was a real blessing . Fownhope is a lovely village, and has lots of places to visit in the area. It was such an enjoyable time that we booked for next year - what more can we say!
Thanks to Claire & Kevin for all your hard work..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your glowing review; I think Kevin and I enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed being here! Such a great group; we look forward to seeing you next September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay in many B&B's throughout the country due to the peripatetic nature of my work. The Bowens is certainly towards the top of the list for quality. The situation is lovely in large gardens and in a working village.
The small double room I had was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the whole house is very well kept.
The family running it are very friendly and the breakfast to order is good.
The only reason why the green dots above don't reach excellent is that in my view, the small double room is overpriced, at £45 per night. In comparison with B&B's of equal quality.
The local pubs vary! One doesn't serve food at weekends or weekday evenings, another boasts a wonderful retaurant (I'm told!) but you need to book for a Saturday evening.
All in all a pleasant if brief visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay at The Bowens last Friday was all too brief but its flexibility was the main reason we stayed there at all; other local B&Bs wouldn't put us up for only one night at weekends. This turned out to be fortunate for us. Fownhope was a great place to stay and the friendly welcome and well equipped, large sized annex rooms at our destination were what we needed. There was even food provided (free) to one of our number who arrived too late and too tired to make it 100 yds further to the nearest pub.
The proprietors are relatively new to the business but clearly have the attitude and energy to succeed in it. If they maintain this momentum none of their guests are likely to leave feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
What a great review; thank you! We're so glad your walking party found our accomodation suited all your needs and it really wasn't any trouble making a sandwich for your exhausted friend. We couldn't have him going to bed on an empty stomach! Please come again if you're walking in the Wye Valley in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

On a Canoeing Trip recently down the River Wye in Herefordshire, we styed one night at this great B&B in the lovely village of Fownhope. The twin room we shared in the annexe to the rear of the property was very clean, well maintained spacious and had good comfortable beds . The adjoining bathroom was also a very good size and well looked after. Breakfast the following morning was great, and our hosts very friendly and helpful. The only downside to our visit to Fownhope had been walking up from the river along the busy A road where there are no footpaths, our hosts very kindly gave us (and our canoeing gear) a lift back down to the river after breakfast the following day. Excellent stay, thank you to you both!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review; we're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Local businesses are lobbying for a footpath from the campsite into the village to make walking less dangerous; maybe if you come to Fownhope again it'll be in place! If not, we are happy to pick you up and drop you back there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowens Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fownhope HR1 4PS , England (Formerly The Bowens Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowens Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse set in tranquil village 7 miles from Hereford. Rooms are located in independent courtyard buildings; breakfast is served in the dining room of the main house. The village of Fownhope has two pubs, a restaurant in the local leisure centre and a store, all within short walking distance. Many nearby local attractions, walks and great fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bowens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowens Bed And Breakfast Fownhope, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.