We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Green Man
Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
01432-860243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Fownhope
Price range: $40 - $161
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You have the hotel listed but not the restraurant, makes it harder to find, also it should have herefordshire in search function otherwise it makes it hard to find.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was my second visit to the Green man and i was not disappointed. I had the fillet of beef and my partner had the venison. Both were out of this world. The service was excellent and the manager recommended us a fantastic bottle of red wine.
We will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    25
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great pub, service not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Went there with group of friends for a drink and the we decided to eat. When we ask if we can eat staff said no problem took about 30mins to set the table another 30mins to get served, for on the end to get wrong food. When complained was offered replacement which by that time was too late as i was starving. Got offered desert as a sorry which was great.
Last thursday i went again for a drink with another group of friends,by 22.10 staff started cleaning which made us feel very unwelcomed. At 22.45 to be told finish your drinks we are closing,due to not having night porter. Shocking i have been there many times but this is the first time i felt kicked out due to lack if staff and manners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just come back from staying here for 2 nights it was a lovely and relaxed time. Staff were so helpful, the food was excellent as was the accommodation would love to come back again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The fourth visit in the past year. Very attractive restaurant with several seperate areas together with the bar which is now mainly tables for eating. Very efficient smiling service all evening. Started with preserved ham hock then sea bass with prawns for my wife and a med-rare fillet steak for me; both cooked perfectly. There are lots of little touches in the food. On the face of it this is good bistro style pub grub, but it manages to go beyond that helped by the ambience and service. This is a very busy place probably serving 100 plus diners when full as it was this time, but no loss of service and a very good evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub, great food, lovely gardens and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We popped into this pub not really knowing the area. Upon arrival there was a great barman who although busy acknowledged us with a friendly hello and said he'd be with us soon. He offered to put our drinks on a tab without offering and made arrangements for us to be brought menus out I the garden. Sunday lunch is about £12/13 for a main. We had the beef and pork both meals were lovely. Then we had a chocolate tart with cream and it was amazing. Desserts are around £6. In total it was around £40 for two mains, a pudding, a pint, a soda and a dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Fownhope, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Woolhope, Herefordshire
Fownhope, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.