We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise at a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ewyas Harold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
Ewyas Harold HR2 0EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ewyas Harold B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“paradise at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Jenny was a superb host the house was lovely clean comfortable and full of interesting things. The grounds were lovely and had we had time would have loved to sit there. Breakfast was excellent and service speedy and very pleasant. Jenny's husband had been unwell but this did not stop her going above and beyond what we expected or paid for. Would love toh go back.

Room Tip: Only 3 all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped at The Old Rectory for one night in July it is lovely and peaceful place. On arriving we were greeted by Jenny who owned the house a very warm and nice lady we were shown to our room which was up a very grand staircase. The rooms was very clean and at night so peaceful all you could hear was the owls hooting. The breakfast was full English tea, coffee etc and nothing was a problem. If you are passing through this way I would recommend you to stop at this B+B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here with a friend whilst on a walking trip covering part of Offa's Dyke. The Old Rectory is charming, full of character and kept in pristine condition by the owners Jenny and Chrix. We were greated by tea and cakes which was very welcome after a days walking. The bedrooms are spacious, furnished with antiques and very comfortable with crisp white bedlinen and fresh towels each day, the breakfasts delicious. The house is in a delightful countryside location, with lovely gardens which are free guests to enjoy. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Two rooms have en-suite, one has shower the other a bath, another double room has a separate but pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked into the Old Rectory on the advice of friends in the village of Ewyas Harold for our visit with them. It was so comfortable and quiet. The house had the character of an old country house with lots of antique furniture and beautiful decor. Comfy beds and large room with television, little sofa and tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was extremely good, choice of cooked and/or cereals, toast and lots of lovely preserves, some home made. The large table in the dining room made for good conversation in the mornings and the view was superb. We really enjoyed our stay and the Juckes made us very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Old Rectory offers bed and breakfast accommodation full of character, with rather grand rooms full of period furniture and collectables, including many hunting trophies!

We were made to feel very welcome and the Juckes were happy to help with suggestions for places to eat and a map and book of walks which was useful. Our twin room was very large and clean, with comfortable beds and we had a separate, modern (but slightly out of keeping?) bathroom for our sole use.

Breakfast is taken in the large dining room overlooking the gardens and offered good variety, including home made preserves and good coffee.

We would very much recommend this property and the Black Mountains (our first visit to them)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We went to see our friends in the village and stayed overnight in this magnificient house.
We had a very warm welcome with a nice tee. From the first moment we really enjoyed the atmosphere of this beautifully furnished old rectory. The rooms were large and clean and the garden very beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
house of york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Welcoming flapjack and tea in drawing room
Peace and quiet.
Set in most pleasant private gardens
Excellent in every way,rooms,food and Chrix and Jenny made you feel like houseguests

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Ewyas Harold HR2 0EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ewyas Harold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ewyas Harold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.