We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Two Brewers Hotel to your Saves list
Two Brewers Hotel
The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stumbled on this hotel trying to find somewhere close to legoland harry potter and roahl dahl museum.it was great.lovely atmosphere friendly staff beautiful green at front for kids to play on.bustling atmosphere in bar.room large and took 3 kids plus adults( not an easy find). So glad we didnt do the budget chain hotel and took a chance.area beautiful english country feel.need to book a table if wanting to eat as v busy.food prices reasonable but good deals before 5 pm..will go back if in area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    35
    21
    25
See reviews for
51
45
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked into this hotel for a night from the booking until we left we had an excellent service, the staff were very helpful in making sure that we had everthing we needed, we had a ground floor room which I though we would get all the noise of people to and fro ing from their rooms and then to the hotel bar and resterant but no sound at all.The beakfast was great we had everything on the menu it was hot and served very quickly (no waiting) waiteress was around but not in our faces like some places we have been to. The manager and his staff was always smiling and polite to guests.
The manager told us about the village and the history of the family called Blackwells and also about the common where the first cricket match was televised from. There is also Warner Studios not far away. I would recommend this hotel in this area near to many other places and not far from Londaon.
Overall we had a very pleasant two days there and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You can book online, and choose your room we had a ground floor room and it looked over the car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We needed somewhere close to St Albans for a business event trip and because of the event, hotels in the area were full or extreamly expensive. A google search a bit further out highlighted the two brewers at Chipperfield. It was relatively cheap, so expectations wern't that high, but having lived in the area 30 years ago, we gave it a go.
What a surprise, it was lovely, big fire in the pub, lots of parking, not too far from the M25 and A41 and it took 15 mins to get to St Albans in the morning. Food was great value and tasted good, I had the 3 course meal deal for £12.99, thinking portions would be small. They wern't, and I couldn't finish it all. Starter, Prawns and chilli dip, thought there would only be 1 or 2, but there were 3 in breadcrumbs, 3 in filo pastry and 3 battered. Steak, chips and trimmings for main and the chocolate fudge cake beat me! Better than many of the chains I stay at.
Overall, its noted for future stays and I will definately be going again if I am working anywhere nearby.
Only one slight down was the room was a little cold, it was minus 10 outside that night and the old building had sash windows that were a little drafty. I could have gotten the other duvet from the cupboard but I just didnt fancy the trip across the room. During summer it'll be lovely and I plan to be there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear andysindevon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for the Two Brewers, we are pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay and meal, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived expecting "cheap and cheerful" - we knew it was cheap, and hoped it would be cheerful! Well certainly exceeded these expectation in all respects. Large, quiet, clean and comfortable room with large and comfortable bed, plenty of sockets, iron and board. We certainly had a good night's sleep. On Saturday night we had an excellent and truly enjoyable evening meal with friends. There was a good selection of food and drink on the menu; the dining room had a great atmosphere; the service was pleasant, polite and efficient.
Sunday morning: breakfast food (full cooked English and a good selection of cereals, fruit salad etc) was very good, but the service was much more casual - and staff completely evaporated after the cooked food was served and so I couldn't get the extra slice of toast I would have liked! Went for a great walk around Chipperfield village, common and woodland in the morning sunshine. Overall a really enjoyable stay and we'll definitely be back next time we visit Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Simon T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear your stay at the Two Brewers exceeded your expectations. We have passed your comments to our management team so that the feedback regarding breakfast can be taken on board.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visit family in the village twice a year, we always stay here. The four poster room was ok, bed too big for the room, the room was abit cold at times. Breakfast was disappointing, butter in packets, fairly uninterested staff. We had one evening meal which was nice with family, couldn't fault the food. Dirty wine glasses though which were not welcome.

It always seems abit hit and miss, staff work really hard, but no management guiding them and meeting and greeting, not cheap to stay here so I expect a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear richlau l,

Thank you for your review, the feedback provided is gretafully received and has been passed to our management team so that can improve service at the Two Brewers.

We look forward to reading your next review.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean, polite, presentable. This hotel won't wow you but it is incredible value for money...good large rooms, clean with polite, friendly staff.
The fact that it is also a pub does not affect sleep quality at all as e place is quite large and you don't hear any pub noise. The room itself is large, clean, proper hair dryer (excellent at the price range) and all that you would expect from a standard hotel....but at excellent prices...amazing VFM....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Carla T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear your comments on the Two Brewers and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have only eaten here not stayed but have enjoyed several very well cooked meals over several visits both as a couple, a 4 and a 6. On only one occasion can I remember the meals being mixed up when we all ordered differently cooked steaks, but it was soon sorted out between us.
The food has always been well presented, tasty and decent portions.
We have enjoyed the 2 steaks + bottle of wine for £19.95 on more than one occasion and this is a great deal, long may it continue!

Just about to book our next trip in March so will be seeing you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jo A,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear how you have enjoyed several visits to the Two Brewers and look forward to seeing you in March.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Brewers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.