We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value short term stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Save Saved
You added Two Brewers Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chipperfield
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value short term stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean, polite, presentable. This hotel won't wow you but it is incredible value for money...good large rooms, clean with polite, friendly staff.
The fact that it is also a pub does not affect sleep quality at all as e place is quite large and you don't hear any pub noise. The room itself is large, clean, proper hair dryer (excellent at the price range) and all that you would expect from a standard hotel....but at excellent prices...amazing VFM....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Carla T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear your comments on the Two Brewers and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    25
    12
    23
See reviews for
37
33
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have only eaten here not stayed but have enjoyed several very well cooked meals over several visits both as a couple, a 4 and a 6. On only one occasion can I remember the meals being mixed up when we all ordered differently cooked steaks, but it was soon sorted out between us.
The food has always been well presented, tasty and decent portions.
We have enjoyed the 2 steaks + bottle of wine for £19.95 on more than one occasion and this is a great deal, long may it continue!

Just about to book our next trip in March so will be seeing you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jo A,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear how you have enjoyed several visits to the Two Brewers and look forward to seeing you in March.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed overnight Saturday. Handy location with ample FREE parking.Food good, breakfast excellent. Carefully prepared fresh fruit salad and toast made with fresh bread, but coffee let it down. Good country pub atmosphere.
Weekend break good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, your comments regarding the coffee have been passed to our management team so that they can be addressed.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner england
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had Sunday lunch with two grandchildren. We choose the rib of beef....WOW!!...meat was so soft and attached to a rib. Taste was perfect. The children had meals from kids menu which was very good in size and quality and price. All in all a great lunch,served by friendly staff in a great British pub.
There is a hotel and would make a great weekend break on outskirts of London.

Room Tip: Would be even better in Summer with a nice walk after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear lenPinnerEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review for the Two Brewers, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with the Grandchildren.

We hope to see you agai soon.

Thanks
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just had a great meal at the Two Brewers, nothing was too much trouble. We had gone with some friends for the first time and was very impressed with the food and atmosphere. I thoroughly recommend it and will definately be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear princesscathryn9,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

In the past few months i have been to the Two Brewers for several meals.

The first was just me and the wife for a birthday meal and had a great meal and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Service was pretty good.

We returned about a few weeks later for a n extended family meal for my sons birthday and once again we had great food, but the service was shocking in comparision to our previous trip.

Our first trip had us seated in the more secluded restaurant area, but the second meal had us in the open area towards the bar and it seemed as though we were invisible to the staff.

After being seated, that was really the last piece of good service that we received. We had to get there attention for drinks and food orders.

The time it took for our courses to arrive seemed far to long and it could not have been due to lots of covers as it was a fairly quite early evening visit.

I would defiantly recommend the food and the selections available, but just don't expect great service at what is otherwise a great located pub/restaurant.

I couldn't make my mind up between either a poor or average rating as the service most defiantly was dire, but the only saving grace was the food when it arrived was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, the issues you have raised will be passed to our management team to ensure the service levels at the Two Brewers are consistant. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the menu choices and hope you return to note the improved service.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we arrived at the two brewers with another couple and booked two double rooms. i must say the rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable, we decided to eat in the bar that evening and again the food was lovely and lovely atmosphere...............then it all went wrong, the four of us ordered drinks the same round 10 times each time the price was different???? it ranged from £11.30 to £17.80 NO two rounds cost the same even though the drinks were exactly the same ordered,??? after this happened for the 10th time we queried it and actually asked for a receipt (we had not been offered one before, the bar staff were very rude and surly, and did not like us questioning the bill, we spoke to a guy who said he was bar manager and he said oh yes it should be £17,00 ish as a bottle of becks is £4.80 etc well our receipt stated £4.00? it seemed no one knew what their price list was. ...we saw the two surly bar staff talking and looking our way and if looks could kill i think we would have all dropped to the floor. the next time we ordered a round, the guy said £16.30 .....oh no i mean £17,00 (the same as the previous) it was only after this complaint did they stick to the same amount........we were meeting friends for a meal (10 of us ) on the saturday night and were going to stay at the two brewers for the meal but after our experience of such rude staff we decided to eat at THE SWAN in Boverindon ( the meal and staff were lovely, and the steak beautiful but thats another review lol ) we spent around £400-500 on food and drink which the two brewers missed out on.......the next morning 4 of our friends came to see us off at the hotel and one of them was a bit peckesh, so went in to ask if they were serving food...my friend sue asked the girl in the bar ( no one else was there so was not busy) "are you doing food please" she was met with a surly "yes" the menus over there"......no eye contact or help, my friend could not find a menu so went to the bar where the barperson was and although she was the only person at the bar the girl ignored her , my friend waited but was still ignored...she walked and and said no i wont bother we will go somewhere else they are so rude here...........although the two brewers is a lovely pub/hotel and the food is lovely too and the surroundings ....the staff need a thorough overhall .....was not pleasant to deal with at all

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely and quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear karenandkeith,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, regarding the issues you received whilst dinning we have asked our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Brewers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.