We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Two Brewers Hotel to your Saves list
Two Brewers Hotel
The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
birmingham
1 review
“good food, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just had a great meal at the Two Brewers, nothing was too much trouble. We had gone with some friends for the first time and was very impressed with the food and atmosphere. I thoroughly recommend it and will definately be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear princesscathryn9,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    49
    35
    21
    25
See reviews for
51
45
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

In the past few months i have been to the Two Brewers for several meals.

The first was just me and the wife for a birthday meal and had a great meal and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Service was pretty good.

We returned about a few weeks later for a n extended family meal for my sons birthday and once again we had great food, but the service was shocking in comparision to our previous trip.

Our first trip had us seated in the more secluded restaurant area, but the second meal had us in the open area towards the bar and it seemed as though we were invisible to the staff.

After being seated, that was really the last piece of good service that we received. We had to get there attention for drinks and food orders.

The time it took for our courses to arrive seemed far to long and it could not have been due to lots of covers as it was a fairly quite early evening visit.

I would defiantly recommend the food and the selections available, but just don't expect great service at what is otherwise a great located pub/restaurant.

I couldn't make my mind up between either a poor or average rating as the service most defiantly was dire, but the only saving grace was the food when it arrived was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, the issues you have raised will be passed to our management team to ensure the service levels at the Two Brewers are consistant. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the menu choices and hope you return to note the improved service.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we arrived at the two brewers with another couple and booked two double rooms. i must say the rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable, we decided to eat in the bar that evening and again the food was lovely and lovely atmosphere...............then it all went wrong, the four of us ordered drinks the same round 10 times each time the price was different???? it ranged from £11.30 to £17.80 NO two rounds cost the same even though the drinks were exactly the same ordered,??? after this happened for the 10th time we queried it and actually asked for a receipt (we had not been offered one before, the bar staff were very rude and surly, and did not like us questioning the bill, we spoke to a guy who said he was bar manager and he said oh yes it should be £17,00 ish as a bottle of becks is £4.80 etc well our receipt stated £4.00? it seemed no one knew what their price list was. ...we saw the two surly bar staff talking and looking our way and if looks could kill i think we would have all dropped to the floor. the next time we ordered a round, the guy said £16.30 .....oh no i mean £17,00 (the same as the previous) it was only after this complaint did they stick to the same amount........we were meeting friends for a meal (10 of us ) on the saturday night and were going to stay at the two brewers for the meal but after our experience of such rude staff we decided to eat at THE SWAN in Boverindon ( the meal and staff were lovely, and the steak beautiful but thats another review lol ) we spent around £400-500 on food and drink which the two brewers missed out on.......the next morning 4 of our friends came to see us off at the hotel and one of them was a bit peckesh, so went in to ask if they were serving food...my friend sue asked the girl in the bar ( no one else was there so was not busy) "are you doing food please" she was met with a surly "yes" the menus over there"......no eye contact or help, my friend could not find a menu so went to the bar where the barperson was and although she was the only person at the bar the girl ignored her , my friend waited but was still ignored...she walked and and said no i wont bother we will go somewhere else they are so rude here...........although the two brewers is a lovely pub/hotel and the food is lovely too and the surroundings ....the staff need a thorough overhall .....was not pleasant to deal with at all

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely and quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear karenandkeith,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, regarding the issues you received whilst dinning we have asked our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were lovely, clean and comfy.

Breakfasts dire, £6 for one croissant and a coffee? £6 for a stale shop brought croissant and cold coffee. And £8 for poached eggs on toast. We only managed one cup as the coffee ran out and noone seems to fill it up, or the hot water so I couldn't have tea either! Mouldy bananas, dirty cups, no saucers. I can see I am not the only one that has complained about this in previous reviews but obviously company not listening as nothing has been done!

The receptionist was probably used to this complaint as well as when mentioned, when checking out, the prices, 'anything cooked is a full English!' and a lovely roll of the eyes were my answers.

Luckily live far enough away not to have th make the decision to go back or not. I think by the looks of the reviews people seem to be complaining about things that are easily rectified, so why they aren't rectifying them are beyond me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear psloops,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received whilst staying at the Two Brewers, we have asked our management team to investigate your feedback.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Well done for bringing back the lunch time specials, just had a brilliant afternoon the staff were friendly, and the food was excellent, after a period of pretentious overpriced menu, and rude staff.
Welcome back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Maybell_11,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visist and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I visited the Two Brewers on 27th Oct as had a 25% off food voucher. Not been before and intend to visit again. We had bubble and squeak as a starter which was very tasty, Then Seabass and bean burger for a main and crumble for dessert. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Also, ales on hand pump - Hobgobblin and Redwood. Service was excellent and staff friendly so no complaints. The pub has a nice ambience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Roosterbooster12

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor. Your feedback was pleasing to hear and I have passed your comments onto the Management team so that they may following up your feedback with the team.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took our friends to the two brewers in kings Langley tonight.
One had read reviews and said I don't expect to much according from the reports online.
I replied we had a good meal two weeks ago for my mums 70th birthday party so I thought we would return.
We all had a good meal and great service.
I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and I will return for the new winter menu.
Also we downloaded a discount voucher for 20% off which was used without a problem

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear martin james n,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Brewers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.