We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Perfect service, perfect spa/fitness, perfect food... perfect experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Grove Hotel to your Saves list
The Grove Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“WOW! Perfect service, perfect spa/fitness, perfect food... perfect experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the moment we walked in until the moment we sadly left (because we wanted to stay longer!!), everything was virtually perfect.
1) check in was seamless and incredibly friendly - the valet took our car swiftly away with a smile
2) It was my fiance's Birthday (which i mentioned when I booked the room)... waiting for us in our room was a box of (incredible) chocolates and "happy birthday" written on a plate in chocolate! what service! extra mile indeed! so thoughtful - won me huge brownie points :)
3) the room is ample, new and very clean (we had the bottom of the line) huge TV, fabulously comfy king size bed, big bathroom... it was a bit of a walk as the place is huge! so you might want to bring a pair of trainers with you! Seriously You can hear the M25 when you open your windows... but didnt bother us believe it or not.
4) we had dinner (think couches in a living room rather than formal dining) in the Mansion House lounge in front of the cozy fire place and it was yummy - our server was friendly and the head chef even stopped by for a quick chat to find out how we were doing! what a nice guy!
5) the fitness center is fantastic - took a brilliant Boot Camp Class at 9:15am on sunday followed by the best breakfast buffet i have had in a long time - ample, fresh, delish... just wish i could have put some in my bag for later!
6) the spa is great as well! 20M pool with a bubble pool and steam. Only down side is the sauna is in the changing room so there is no co-ed one ... also there are only about 10 loungers to sit on... and they fill up quite quickly. the changing facilities are spotless and the soap/creams smell delish! we left squeaky clean!
7) the grounds are fantastic - we will defentily return in the summer when we can make use of the little beach, huge outdoor pool, 2 tennis courts, veg garden, fruit trees and fantastic walks...

If you are looking for a place to get away from it all - the Grove is a MUST! also very kid friendly!

dont miss this place! we loved it and will definitely be back... hopefully sooner rather than later! thank you for making my fiance's birthday weekend spectacular!

Room Tip: Ask for one near reception if you're not into walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Lizzielee,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased you and your fiance were able to celebrate with us. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    305
    154
    54
    54
See reviews for
321
456
28
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Grove is a modern, smart hotel close to the M25.

The building is slightly weird – a medium-grade country house backed by a very large, modern, high quality hotel extension, and surrounded by a golf course.

Our room, however, was comfortable, well-designed and sophisticated; and the overall experience of the hotel was very good.

One disappointment was with swimming pools. For good reasons, children aren't allowed in the spa pool – they can spoil the experience when you're have a quiet, couple's weekend break. However, the alternative pool was only good for very small children, meaning that there are no real family swimming facilities.

That said, we had fun playing pool on the full-sized table, and we had a good walk around the grounds.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and I recommend the Grove.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, get a first or second floor room - people walking in the garden can see into gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear James_Manktelow,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted to read you had a positive experience at The Grove. If I may, I would like to add children (over 12) may use Sequoia's indoor pool between 9-11am and 3-5pm, with parental supervision. Of course, if you visit in the summer then the beach and outdoor pool are a must, as well as the bikes, tennis, indoor games room and more! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Grove in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Today we had Champagne tea at the Grove and it was truly superb.
They couldn't do enough for us and kept refreshing everything we ate up.
The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are great.
A wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself on a cold wet rainy day oin October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Janicedempsey,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Afternoon Tea at The Grove. Whilst we cannot control the weather, we do our very best to ensure all of our guests are relaxed and comfortable. I do hope you were able to enjoy our special Chocolate Week afternoon tea with tempting treats on all tiers of the stand! I will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic round of golf. Course in excellent condition. Very good food in the stables.
Highly recommended and great value for money for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Richie32,
Thank you for your review, I will share your kind words with the team. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our championship golf course; it really is as good in the winter as it is in the summer. I do hope we will see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great time at the grove...
Grounds are so beautiful , spa was fantastic place to go and relax.
Great service we went for afternoon tea in the lounges and WOW how amazing.
Glasshouse great food selection for all. We will definitely go back thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Jane B,
Thank you for your lovely review of The Grove. I will share your comments with our team and look forward to welcoming you again to London's Country Estate in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at the Grove with a 6 month old baby and one set of grandparents. The hotel is great for the family with excellent facilities (albeit the indoor children's pool was too cold). Our daughter's first experience of sand was on their "beach"!

For adults there is lots to do and the spa was great (with a fantastic adults only indoor pool, gym and of course the golf). We also took a bike ride through the local forest and tow path and they were able to provide a carriage for our baby which she really enjoyed too. There were lots of nice touches like that to make the experience very baby friendly.

The one thing that really let the weekend down was the cost of the food and drinks at the restaurants. The restaurants were very average but with a completely disproportionate price tag. With the location, you are pretty limited to options so it felt pretty usary and would make me thing twice about staying here again which is a shame as the facilities were great.

Room Tip: The hotel is based on a very long corridor. We stayed nearer the reception and I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear SulaMetz,
Thank you for your kind review. I am aware of a temporary fault with our children's pool and pleased to report this was fixed within the day. We like to think of ourselves as a parent-friendly hotel (not just child-friendly) and I am pleased you were able to enjoy our complimentary bikes to explore our grounds as well as the many other services we provide to make your stay with us as relaxed as possible. I hope we may welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well firstly don't let the prices put you off. This is however a hotel to be saved for that extra special occasion. You are shown to your room which is decorated and furnished in a superb contemporary style, so much so you want to be able to pick it up and take it to replace your own bedroom!

I went the whole hog when visiting, starting with a proper afternoon tea with neatly cut sandwiches, scones with yummy clotted cream and delightful pastries, small and lite so you can eat more than one!!

There is a choice when it comes to evening dining we chose the fine-dining option at Colette's, really lovely bar to have a pre dinner drink and then the food was exceptional, but I can appreciate that this style of dining is not to everyones taste, some may feel a bit ill at ease, so the other equally fine option, a bit noisier is the Glasshouse, I diddn't eat there except for the exceptional buffet breakfast, best I have ever had, there are stations for bakery, eggs, cold meats and cheeses etc etc.

Then in between eating and drinking the spa is the place to go, I am not a golfer but there is also a golf course. But the best bit, feeling like a celebrity is when you walk out of reception and hail a golf cart that will whizz you over to the spa.

So if you can afford this luxurious venue then Go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear jameshewson,
Thank you for taking the time to post such high praise on The Grove. I am delighted you were able to experience all we have on offer and appreciate the high standards of service we pride ourselves on. Perhaps next time, we may book you time with one of our PGA instructors so you can play our championship course? Thank you again, your comments will be shared with our team and I do hope we will see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.