We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Basil Fawlty is alive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Falcon Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Falcon Hotel
2-4 Broad Street, Bromyard HR7 4BT, England
01885 483034
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Bromyard
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mrs Basil Fawlty is alive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is not a review of the food, just the place itself as we didn't get as far as ordering.
Went in to eat lunch but were immediately put off by the non welcome from presumably the lady proprietor who interrogated us as we were having a look around as to what sort of food we wanted, bar, restaurant etc, we said can we eat outside, as it was a pleasant day, yes but I can't serve restaurant menu as the gravy will congeal! We took a bar menu and looked ouside but weren't enamoured by the seating area or the menu choice, so after our grilling we decided not to bother and departed.
There weren't many eaters or drinkers there, I wonder why. Some good old fashioned customer service would be useful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
malden essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Falcon Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

breakfasts first class with a very good choice, porridge may be off menu, dinner good value and selection with steaks cooked by Craig, all meats very tender, with reasonably priced wines

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Where to Begin. . . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Well, having chosen to visit Bromyard on a wet Tuesday only to find that either places were closed all day or closing half day, the Falcon Hotel offered more than most for a lunchtime bite to eat.

The portions were enormous, well cooked and excellent value for money, really could not be faulted, and to cheer everyone along, the proprietors were straight clones of Basil and Sybal Fawlty.

When ordering food and in particular chips with our turkey and ham pies we were told with a straight face that there was no need for chips as the pie was enough, forging on with our order we were then advised that we had been warned and it was not her fault if we could not finish the meal.

We enquired of the bar man which local beer he recommended, to be told that he could not advise us at all as he did not have a clue as to what type of beer we liked!

Many small fawltyesque moments followed throughout the meal, however this only served to make the experience more enjoyable, although it would be easy to see how this could put people off, with the attitude that patrons were only ruining the proprietors afternoon.

All in all, would we return?, well yes I think we would, the food was not faulty, only the owners, and that can be overlooked if you see it as it is. The surroundings were clean and tidy and well presented which is not always the case in a bar type restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Called into The Falcon in Bromyard today with a group of walkers. Pre booked our food before the walk. We were shown into the lovely restaurant, spotless tablecloths, silver, clean cutlery, glasses etc. Quite a difference in the selection of food, some hot - while myself and husband had the BEST sandwich ever. Made on their own bread, which was exquisite, I had prawn, while he had hot very tender beef with horseradish. They were enormous sandwiches, I could barely eat all mine. The other had various i.e. from risotto to curry to beef and suit pud, all clean plates and no complaints. The owner/lady is not to be trifled with, looks terrifying, but don't be scared, give it a go!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely service, excellent food, great 1920/30s music in the background and spotless tablecloths, cutlery etc...it was like going into the oats,,,in a good way !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Hotel also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falcon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.