We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction

The Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction
12 The Square, Bromyard HR7 4BP, England
01885 488 329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Bromyard
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Totally unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My 10 year old daughter is a keen Dr Who fan and was absolutely amazed by this experience. The way you enter the museum through the Tardis was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing. Im not a particular sci fi fan but was really impressed by this unique experience, the collection was displayed in such a way that made the experience totally different and authentic. Well worth the entrance fee, would thoroughly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was must when visiting Bromyard as my daughter loves Dr Who and we all enjoyed it. Great seeing some of the old and new props. Bromyard is a lovely little town too, very pleased we visited.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge little museum of awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

My teenage daughter and I weren't expecting much when we walked in, as we could only see a tiny room with a few props in it. Then we entered the Tardis. It really is much bigger on the inside! I would recommend it to any British sci-fi fan. The owner/proprietor was very knowledgeable about all things sci-fi and made us feel at home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A treasure trove - we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very impressive collection of all things Dr Who related, as well as some real gems such as the R2D2 signed by Kenny Baker and bits and bobs from shows like Red Dwarf, Star Trek etc. The owner is a lucky man! If you're not properly into sci-fi, you won't get as much out of it as we did. We loved it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Really really interesting - but for the proper SF buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As previously noted, for a small museum the admittance price is on the high side and the comment on this being a private museum with no subsidies probably explains that. At the end of the day this is one avid collector investing his time & money to put on an exhibition for similarly inclined people. Visitors with a genuine interest in the subject will understand the value of what they are looking at - passing tourists who don't know their Zygon from their Silurian won't.

So, prerequisites for visiting: Whovians of today and those that hark back to the golden era, real fans of TV and film SF & fantasy in general including the Gerry Anderson super marionation series and anyone with a fascination for the props and memorabilia associated with TV & film fantasy. If you have ever looked into a display cabinet of Dinky Spectrum MPVs and said "I had one of them in 1973" this place is highly likely for you.

The epitome of a specialist museum and all the better for being that way

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Time Machine Museum of Science Fiction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.