We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & plenty of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No 1 @ Broad Street

No 1 @ Broad Street
1 Broad St, Bromyard HR7 4BS, England
+44 1885 483896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Bromyard
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food & plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I ate there with my own family, plus my parents and my sister and her family. The food was great, there was plenty of it and they were happy to be flexible with special requests (like Yorkshire puddings with the roast lamb rather than beef). My sister said the white chocolate cheesecake was the best cheesecake she'd ever had. They were also happy to answer questions for purpose of food allergies - chef says he does not use eggs in his ice-cream. The staff were friendly and amenable.
I would gladly eat there again because of the quality of the food, but I'd be wary about the service. The service was incredibly slow. There were 12 of us, which easily doubled the number of customers in for Sunday lunch and I realise it's a large party, but we had booked well in advance. It took nearly three hours though to eat a two-course meal. The wait between ordering dessert and receiving it was 35 minutes, which when you consider all the puddings were prepared beforehand, was ridiculous. This marred what would otherwise have been a lovely dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently ate at No 1 on the last night of our holiday in the local area and we were all very impressed with every aspect of the meal. In our party of six, we had two vegetarians (one of whom is pregnant) and a coeliac so finding somewhere to cater for all of our needs was quite difficult. However, No 1 truly came up trumps! We were a little hesitant at first because the place was very quiet (it was a Thursday evening) and the menu did not appear to be that extensive; how wrong we were!! The front of house was fantastic and said that we could say what we wanted (even if it wasn't on the menu) and they would cook it for us. We decided to sit down and ordered. Well, the food was so yummy and tasty! The two vegetarians ordered a creamy mushroom tagliatelle (not on the menu) and the coeliac was well catered for with plenty of choice (a rarity!) because everything is cooked fresh so anything could be made gluten free.
Everyone's food arrived hot and together and everyone agreed how flavoursome the meal was. The portion sizes were generous and the prices were very reasonable. We only wish that we had left room to sample some of the deserts too! Thank you to all staff who were working on Thursday 4th April 2013; you helped to make our last night a fantastic and memorable one.

If we lived closer, we would definitely be regular customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

it was a good and miserable evening outside but the food and service at No 1 could not have been better...we both had the 8oz fillet which seemed very generously sized!!!!! and proper tender meat...served exactly as requested!! decent bottle of wine as well....have been here several times and can say never been disappointed by quality and portion size of food. Starters good too....you will not go home hungry that's for sure! Staff obviously know their regulars from coffee-shop opening hours but still offer a "proper" evening service...
Bromyard is not exactly a trendy venue so do not expect to go out dancing in the streets afterwards....maybe more suited to a more mature clientele..if you have a National Trust Card then for sure, this is your sort of place to eat...and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great coffee, great food, friendly staff, highly recommend the gluten free fair especially the nut-roast, definitely worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely worth a visit 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

All of our family & friends regularly visit No 1 for both coffee in the cafe or food in the restaurant.

I suffer with food allergies and, because the food is homemade made from scratch, have never encountered a problem. The staff are always able to advise exactly what ingredients are used. I couldn't ask for better than that and will say there are very few restaurants who could provide this information off the top of their heads!!!! 9 times out of 10 they have to go and "have a look at the packets". Not the case at No 1.

We have all always been delighted with the food and service. The staff are friendly & service is excellent. Would defiantly recommend visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 1 @ Broad Street also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to No 1 @ Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 1 @ Broad Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.