We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roebuck Inn

The Roebuck Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brimfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roebuck Inn
Save
You added The Roebuck Inn to your Saves list
Brimfield SY8 4NE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Brimfield B&B and Inns
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A great local pub selling great food,have eaten here a few times and never been disappointed.

Have called in here quite a few times, including on the way to a 1930's party... were made to feel more than welcome by the landlord and his wife.

Being dog friendly and having a warming log fire in the winter is a bonus too.

Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This pub was fine for a fairly quick evening meal when staying in a nearby B&B. However, we were horrified to see (and smell!) a man smoking by the bar (just next to our table). This went on for some time and the bar staff must have seen him but did nothing about it. (Don't they know this is illegal?) We didn't have the nerve to complain...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theroebuckinn, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I am the owner ( and chef ) of The Roebuck Inn and have, in the past, declined to respond to comments made ( both positive and negative ) about The Roebuck as I believe everyone both has, and is entitled, to form an opinion of my Pub and my cooking !!
On this occasion however, I feel I must right a very serious wrong regarding the suggestion that I would allow anyone to smoke in the pub. Yes, we do have one gentleman who, on occasions will 'smoke' a cigarette. It is, actually, an electric lookalike and 'lights' by battery, emitting steam.
It is a shame that you did not feel able to ask the bar staff about the gentleman as I am sure he would have been all too happy to show you the ' offending ' item ( as he has on various other occassions ).
We also have had, yesterday, a call from the Enviromental Health Officers in Hereford who had received a complaint of someone smoking on the premises and they were completely satisfied that no such thing occured.
I hope this has cleared up any misconceptions you may have had about The Roebuck Inn; I, as owner, am very much aware of the legal penalties should I allow such transgressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arranged to meet my elderly father-in-law for a pub lunch at the Roebuck knowing that it had changed hands since we were last there (when, incidentally, we had an excellent meal). We had our dog and had checked that this was a dog friendly pub.
We were made very welcome and given a table in the bar where the dog could be with us. I had liver and bacon, my wife had canneloni and my father-in-law the goats cheese tart. We were all very satisfied with our choices. Friendly service and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Fab food, great atmosphere, however, after several visits, it really depends which waitress you get to decide how great your evening will be. At least one of the waitresses makes you feel like they are doing you a favour to serve you, note this is not the same impression that you get from the owner & his wife or the bar staff. Food really is excellent value, and the atmosphere, particularly in the bar area is lovely, just feel that the waiting staff need a little training in service skills :-) On a foody basis I would definitely recommend but feel that the waiting staff, need a little training!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We visited the Roebuck on our visit to Ludlow Caravan Park, newly opened and fabulous. We were recommended this restaurant by one of the wardens. It was wonderful. The food was excellent, there were 4 of us and we each really enjoyed our food, from black pudding and back, grilled goats cheese and proper whitebait for starters to kidneys in brandy sauce (3) to chicken breast with a wonderful home made tomato sauce. The portions were huge so only one managed a desert all home made. all at very reasonable prices. We did have delicious liqueur coffees instead. The wine is good and reasonable plus the range of ales.

What made it so great was the service. The pub is run by husband and wife team who make your experience great. The lady welcomes you and looks after you and the man cooks. He pops out to see how you are doing and makes this so personal. The other waiting staff are great too. We all wished we lived nearer as it would have been great if this was our local.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Dined here last weekend. Food was very good but not a happy experience due to the waitress / owner's attitude. Not an experience we'll be repeating when there are places like the Rose & Crown and Peacock nearby with good food and service. (The previous review relates to a previous owner).

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We found this restaurant/accomodation on the internet,needing a halfway stop on our way home. It was our wedding anniversary.
It is located just off the A49 in a quiet village near to the lovely old market town of Ludlow.

We were greeted by Olivier Bussot himself, the chef and owner of the Roebuck.He made us very welcome and showed us to our double room ensuite (twins zip/link ).This was clean and comfortable .
Dinner was a French set menu ,5 courses for £22.50 pp. Waited on by 2 youngsters, they were prompt and obliging.We chose wine by the glass,as we preferred different types.
Breakfast 9am was good when it came,very good sausage . The kitchen had run out of eggs(all used night before) and the toast was white sliced bread(surprised ).There was no written menu for choice, Olivier just asked what we'd like,so presumably one could have anything!
It is primarily a good restaurant ,with accomodation. Yes, we would stay there again and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Address: Brimfield SY8 4NE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Brimfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brimfield
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Brimfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roebuck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.