We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and friendly family, dog included!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bovingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely place and friendly family, dog included!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our daughter had a last minute gymnastics competition in Hemel Hempstead and the hotel where her team mates were staying was full. Being a bed and breakfast kind of family, I Googled for B&Bs in and around Hemel Hempstead. This B&B was a bit hidden from the WWW but so glad I found it!! Not only was it only 2.5 miles away from the gym, Sandra, Rob, their daughter, Snowy, the room, facilities and breakfast was WAAY better than what we would have gotten at the hotel. The house sits on 2.5 acres and there is a public path right next to it. We didn't have time to walk around but really wish we did! All the rooms are detached from the main house and while we never mind it when the rooms are inside the main house, it's extra convenient to have direct access to the outside right from the room. Really convenient for those who stays here on business and working late. Ok, so out daughter missed out on some giggles with her gym friends, and the mums with myself, but in exchange we got fantastic sleep and breakfast. The room, Serrento, was large and immaculately clean. There was a tea/coffee facility, TV with satellite service and wifi. Unlike most B&B, Rob provided the password right there and then. Unlike most places where the rooms are away from the main house, the signal was strong. Again, another perk for business people, or those who needs to figure out where to go using the Internet.

We hope to stay here again if our daughter gets chosen to compete in Hemel Hempstead again. I hope next time we'll stay for a couple of nights and try Sandra dinner. She's a chef and I heard many positive reviews on her cooking and I am a huge foodie :)

Thank you for your hospitality! Oh, and the pink elephant! Em's team got 8th place :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Manager at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Shame your visit was so shortHopefully you will be back for another competition and you can explore more of the area and we can spoil you some more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very warm welcome by Sandra and Robert who immediately gave us a comfortable feeling. The room we got (Capri) was very clean and good size. The location is great, beautiful garden and there is a good connection to London by train (+/- 25-30 minutes). The Warner Brothers Studio is just around the corner (+/- 15-20 minutes drive).
The breakfast is great and anything you need will be served. The dinner in the evening is also of a very good quality. Sandra & Robert are great hosts and the cocktails are strong :-)
We wish you all the best and next time we're travelling to London, we will definitely stay at Sandra & Robert's B&B. All the best, Jean & Nathalie (stayed 2 nights from 14th unitl 16th of September)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed only one night at Fir Trees as a stopover on our way to a wedding in Hampshire along with our westie Toby. He soon made friends with the resident dog Snowy who was so friendly as were his owners Rob and Sandra. We stayed in the Capri room which was lovely, so fresh and clean, comfy bed with a large supply of numerous hot drinks and good variety of biscuits. Sandra cooked us a wonderful meal at short notice and it was served to us in our room. We had our breakfast over in the house and again this did not disappoint. Thank you for such superb hospitality Rob and Sandra and a big hug to Snowy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just spent a week at the Fir Trees B&B and have to say not a single fault could be found. Myself, husband and 3 kids were made to feel so welcome, Sandra went out of her way to do everything she could for us, especially the kids I have found some places treat them as an annoyance, not Sandra, she loved them. It is just 25 mins away from London on the train, close to Harry Potter, Legoland and many other attractions so makes it an excellent base for a holiday. And the food, wow, never had breakfast like it. Sandra will also cater for dinner too and fine dining it is. Overall would not consider staying anywhere else if down there again and will recommend to anyone I know going down there. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday x

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to have such a lovely family here for a week and to keep the children entertained and engaged in conversation and have them feeling at home and responding to their needs

It brought a sense of fun to our establishment and it was good to advise on the various trips you went on

Be great to see you all again.

Many Thanks for your kind words

Rob and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Yes to the sparkling clean and cosy rooms. Yes to the hospitality. And yes to fine dining! And a 4th yes to the short drive to the Warner Brothers Studios. We came as strangers and were embraced like long lost friends. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The location is ideal to explore London by train, since there is a direct connection to the city close by. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We really appreciate your lovely sentiments

We always treat people as if they are friends and to give them a sense of homeliness and like to be very sociable and people come as customers and leave as friends

We are central to lots of lovely places to visit and interesting attractions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Fir Tree is one of these lovely finds that you hope for. We first came across them in November 2012 when we had 3 couples come to visit - and needed somewhere to put them! The Fir Tree has 3 rooms, one more lovely than the other, all decked out in boutique style with a flair for blending comfort and interior design. Our friends were raving about the comfort of the rooms, the quality of the food and the sheer hedonistic relaxation with a lovely garden extending into the woods, a relaxing hot tub and a steady stream of fantastic food offerings. Since then we have been back on numerous occasions enjoying the fine dining experience that Sandra creates about 10 times a year. I suffer from serious, multiple food allergies and she manages to create the most outstanding food with a unique twist - while catering to everyone of my allergies. Her 9 course fine dining (+ canapees, tasters and special drinks) is unique in its fusion blend of combining food from all corners of the world - with her own special interpretation. The atmosphere of warm welcome and 'can do' is amazing - it has become one of our favourite places to go..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to have such a lovely family here for a week and to keep the children entertained and engaged in conversation and have them feeling at home and responding to their needs

It brought a sense of fun to our establishment and it was good to advise on the various trips you went on

Be great to see you all again.

Many Thanks for your kind words

Rob and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have now spent almost 3 with the lovely Sandra and Robert (and Snowy the dog) whilst completing the curtain making courses up the road. I had the most amazing time, I was so well looked after. The rooms (I stayed in both the Capri and Sorrento) were both amazing and exceptionally comfortable. Sandras cooking is so amazing that I cannot find the works to describe it, she cooked many different cuisines for me and all were exceptional. For a few of the days I was the only resident at the B&B, normally I would have felt extremely uncomfortable dining alone, but Sandra and Robert made me feel so welcome and would stay and chat. I was quite sad when my stay with them was over, but fortunately I have one more course in November so will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bovingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bovingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated guest house which offers visitors a friendly and intimate atmosphere. It is a true home from home and is set in an area of outstanding natural woodland beauty, yet close to all amenities. Whether you're planning a family holiday, romantic weekend or marking a special event, Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast can cater for your every need, including excellent food choices. If you are conducting business in Hertfordshire, the tranquil yet accessible location is ideal for unwinding close to nature. There's even a large Hot Tub in an Alpine House where you can relieve the stresses of modern-day living. We have two king size ensuite double rooms (Sorrento and Venetian) and one ensuite queen size double room (Capri). All three are equipped with satellite TV, WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. Each room is completely self contained and separated from the main house by a courtyard. There is ample parking is close to the rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.