We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turfcutters - great pub in New Forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turfcutters Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Turfcutters Arms to your Saves list
The Turfcutters Arms
Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Tianjin, China
2 reviews
“Turfcutters - great pub in New Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great (local) pub in the middle of the New Forest, close to Lymington and Beaulieu with ponies and donkeys wandering around outside. Great food at affordable prices; nice atmosphere with friendly staff, and lovely open fires. Apparently the beer's good too! Ringwood is the local bewery. I recommend the chilli. Dogs welcome too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
42
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The turfcutters was recommended to us by a friend.
What a GREAT place!! We will be back there very soon.
Jed was a KIWI ray of sunshine and such fabulous hospitality.
The food was incredible, ate way too much.
We took our 2 border terriers, they had an absolute blast, the area was fenced off perfectly for dogs.
We hired bikes with trailer for the dogs from Brokenhurst station. Jed gave us very handy tips where to walk locally.
My dad was over from South Africa, and had a wonderful time. True english pub bliss.
Thank you Simon and Jed for a great stay.
See you again soon
Kia Kaha.

Room Tip: We had Squirrel Room. Great massive bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebrides, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Simon and Jed run and excellent operation. Friendly, courteous, helpful and most of all very entertaining.
The room was clean, well provisioned and very comfortable. The food provided by the new chef was also of the highest quality. Most of all, it is a cracking place to have a few late-night drinks with some friends. The whisky selection has one or two cracking malts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very welcoming warm reception from the staff. Nice room, food and general ambience....Fantastic position for Visiting the Forest, Beaulieu, Pylewell Park and other surrounding interesting venues...the dogs were welcomed......we will return. On returning home we discovered we had left some belongings in our room, one call to Jez and the said items arrived through the post within 3 days....excellent service. Thank you....Waking up to see donkeys wandering down the lane and horses neighing in the car park....priceless........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is our second stay, and all I can say is that I wish it was our local pub. Very clean room, very comfy bed, lots of room for the dog. The food in the pub is excellent, and the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. there was music on the Sunday night which was excellent. Cant fault it, best pub we've been in for years, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Squirrel is slightly larger than rabbit and horse, but they are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We wandered in on the 1st Dec 2012, hungry and cold. We were wecomed by cheerful bar staff who found us a table for two by the fireplace. The board was full of specials to compliment the main menu, we opted for the veal casserole with dumpling and I would recommend this as a hearty filling meal. The meat was suculent, dumpling soft and fluffy and the gravy thick and rich. For pud (would be rude not to have a pud) I had home made apple crumble and custard ... beautiful crumble topping. We both had a coke with the meal as I was driving the the bill for main, desert and drinks was jusst short of £30.00.
There we lots of tables with reserved signs so I would recommend booking if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Call and book a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This pub makes you feel so welcome, and the atmosphere is second to none. They will adapt menus to suit your veg choice etc. They love well behaved dogs and the music on Fridays is great. we have tried a few other pubs but always come back to the Turf Cutters honest value for money food, with a very varied menu with something so suit all tastes. Not forgetting the log fires, and real ales who could wish for more. Simon and Jed the most wonderful hosts and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turfcutters Arms

Address: Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Turfcutters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turfcutters Arms Hotel Beaulieu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turfcutters Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.