We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Hilltop, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7YR, England
01590 612228
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 restaurants in Beaulieu
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Dessert, English, Vegetarian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Royal Oak is a family run historic pub set in the New Forest. It offers an excellent range of real ales and ciders, as well as lovely homemade food and desserts. The pub is near to local attractions such as Beaulieu motor museum, Lepe beach and Exbury gardens. Great for family, the beer garden and childrens play area offers a great resting point for days out.
southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited this Pub for a family Birthday meal. We ordered a variety of meals which on the whole were ok, although some of the meat was over cooked and poor quality. One of the party had a dietary need which they tried to accommodate but with little success. The staff were friendly & helpful and the prices were average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    27
    17
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't all rush at once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staying locally for an overnight break - we unfotunately took the advice of our taxi driver on where to eat on a Saturday night. Having been dropped outside by the taxi we were unable to make a hasty retreat when we realised what was inside. Admittedly it had been raining so there was no opportunity to sit outside so we had to find a table near the bar. The table was "sticky" and the menu was "laminated". The people on the table next to us must have seen our reaction as they too commented on the standard of food, not just here, but in other local places. The menu was your basic pies & chips & pasta style however the specials board looked a lot more enticing! We choose the moroccan spiced lamb/couscous and the beetroot and goats cheese salad and we were pleasently surprised. The service was good and the staff were very friendly and polite. Why not put more effort into providing the "Specials" as regular fare and pay a bit more attention to the cleanliness/smell of the pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Most expensive Ploughmans in the south?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a day out in the New Forest, we found ourselves at the Royal Oak and wanted a meal from the bar menu. We both chose the ham and cheese ploughmans. This was priced at 9.95 each. We sat in the garden area which was clean, well kept and very attractive. There was also a play area for the children. The caged Owl looked a little sad although it appeared well cared for.
We didn't wait too long for our meals but were very disappointed with them for the price. It was a basic ploughmans. The most exotic thing on the plate was a small gerkin. Don't get me wrong, we have absolutely no complaints about the meal and for maybe 6.50 it would have been well priced. But 9.95 was well over the top for what was a very basic ploughmans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked this venue for a family meal via e-mail as we were visiting family from abroad. Staff were very proactive in their response and a suitable table reserved for us.
The food was of a very good standard, with all plates being cleared - so there can be no negative feedback about the quality of food provided!
A good range of both beer and cider was readily available, as we're soft drinks.
We enjoyed ourselves and will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nothing wrong with thids place but nothing special (apart from the staff who were freindly and helpful) Standard menu was dull but specials board contained some surprises..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.