We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and well managed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant

Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant
Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
+44 1590 616253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Beaulieu
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service and well managed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very good service by attentive waiter, good place to chat with with some friends over inexpensive drinks. Snacks were OK too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    32
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Totally outgunned by the food offerings nearby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Master Builders is a pub that only continues to exist by virtue of its location. Were it not in the idyllic location of Buckler's Hard, no one would bother going on the grounds of its food or service offering. The staff are underqualified (I had to ask during a BBQ if the mayonnaise was fresh - I was told it was. I asked for a sachet mayonnaise as my girlfriend was pregnant at the time, the person serving me made some comment about why I wouldn't possibly want fresh mayonnaise.... The same member of staff when to serve other customers at the BBQ using his bare hands, happily moving between chicken and beef and pork sausages - I'm sure the local Food Hygiene officer wouldn't have been too impressed). The food is just too expensive as well, and frequently you have to queue for ages just to get a pint and a bar snack.

The only redeeming feature of this pub other than its location is the occassional music event that they lay on in the garden - problems with the staff on the BBQ aside, on a sunny day it can be very nice to come and eat and drink and listen to some jazz on the grassy slopes of Buckler's Hard.

However, aside from that, there are too many far better places nearby - the East End Arms and Steff's Kitchen at Beaulieu to name a few. Management need to work a lot harder to get this place up to scratch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Went in for Yachtsman's breakfast. Came to over £22 for breakfast for two which included a pot of tea with one tea bag in so was like gnats pxxx no matter how much your stirred it and the bacon was hard and chewy, toast £2 extra and didn't arrive with any butter or jam and staff had all disappeared so couldn't even ask for some. Hadn't been to Master Builders for many years because it always used to be dreadful food and service - nothing's changed and we won't bother going back again!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Sorry that you didn’t find our offering good value; our bar breakfasts are popular and should represent good value for money, we have reviewed our pricing and staffing levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked a table for 5 in the restaurant a week in advance with the man who answered their phone. When we arrived the following week we were told by the girl at reception that we couldn't have booked a table because they have a function in the restaurant. We asked to speak to the manager who came from the behind the bar and reiterated the same point (much to the delight of the girl on reception who made a point of smirking and holding her head high at that time). We assured them that we had booked the previous week but, because we couldn't give the name of the man who answered the phone, we were told again that we couldn't have booked. The two of them were very rude, offered no apology and might as well have called us liars. We will never go back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damir T, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed to read your feedback. It is correct that we had a private lunch function in our restaurant last Sunday that had been booked a few months ago. I trust that my team always try and acommodate our visitors and guests as best as they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOUILLON, Burgundy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Master Builder maybe - Master Restaurateur - Not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Whilst staying in the area, we decided to visit the wonderfully located Master Builders' Hotel for lunch in the restaurant over looking the river and hard.
What a disappointment.
Dirty table and cutlery and shambolic staff. The food could be best described as adequate. As for the wine, an extremely limited list and, bizarrely, when we ordered a bottle of French wine from the French waitress, she had not even heard of our selection!
Given the huge potential for this hotel and restaurant, I am surprised that it is still trading.
To be avoided - even if you are hungry and thirsty!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.