We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Leonards Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Leonards Hotel to your Saves list
St. Leonards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been here on many occasions and always had good service very friendly and helpful. Food arrived promptly and was very hot. We usually go on a Wed. When they have a very good carvery, they are not doing that during the summer but can recommend Hunters Chicken delicious .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    68
    38
    22
See reviews for
74
149
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As with most places you get what you pay for. The room was clean but basic. The walls had paint coming off them and there was no air con so the windows had to be left open, with the A30 dual carriageway outside there was the sound of traffic all night. Breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. I would go back but would ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the rear of the hotel away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went back after a couple of good experiences last year, and was very disappointed with the restaurant.
The staff are still overworked and neglected us this time.
The food was on a special £10 for 3 courses, but I'd rather spend more on better quality. I had ham egg & chips (nothing special), the others had fish in a cheese sauce (they said tasty).
Once it got to 9.30 the adjacent tables were relayed with breakfast crockery, a noisy procedure, while we are still trying to enjoy or dinner.
Won't bother again. Lots of better places to eat in Ringwood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My third time at St, Leonards. Great place - Staff great. The Hotel is very close to where my freinds live. They often visit the restaurant, so it`s quite convenient for me. Look forward to be comming in the autumn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

On checking in we found we had a room at the front o the hotel and were worried about the noise keeping our 3 & 5 year old awake.
We needn't have worried there was very little noise and both children slept as well as expected due to the excitement of being in a hotel.
The room was a decent size even with the 2 extra single beds.
As to the staff - they were very friendly and treated the children as real people rather than nuisances. My steak was slightly over cooked but all very good value.
Breakfast as a buffet is ideal for the children and they enjoyed trying new things and having some cooked breakfast too.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Like many people these days I have fallen into the habit of automatically looking for the nearest Travelodge/Premier Inn on the basis that you think you know what you are getting (although in recent times not so much with Travelodge) and that what you are paying is the cheapest in the area. Having seen the astronimical prices asked by the local Travelodge - incidentally just opposite the St Leonard's hotel I decided to book a night in the St Leonard's purely on the basis it was cheap - in fact half the price.

On first impressions I have to say I was impressed. The hotel is well presented and is right next to the main A31 dual carraigeway. The St Leonard's is a hotel in the traditional sense (a pub with rooms) however it is very well presented.

Check in was fast and efficient with all the usual offers of wake up calls, newspapers etc. Corridors up to the room a bit tatty but hardly the hotel's fault - blame the clumsy human beings scraping and knocking suitcases and bags against walls - easily done!

I stayed in room 218 which was on the back of the building. The room was spacious, clean and the bed has to be the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Usual tea making facilities, tv, iron and ironing board in room (a big plus, I hate having to keep going to ask for one!!) and bathroom. No complaints, all worked as it should.

Food was good - just normal pub food (but this is a pub!!). Was simple but well cooked with a lot of local produce. Staff were attentive and very pleasant.

Breakfast in the morning included a full cooked breakfast if wanted as well as the usual cereals, toast, fruit and pastries. Again very well cooked and serving staff were very helpful.

This is without doubt one of the best places I have stayed in a long while. While my initial plan was to 'just book it because its cheap and nearby so it doesn't matter if it's rubbish' I would wholeheartedly say that I would actively look to stay in this place if I needed to stay overnight in this area again and will certainly be trying to get out of the Travelodge habit more often. (St Leonard's hotel was £50 including breakfast vs Travelodge £85 for basic standard room and no breakfast). I really couldn't recommend this place more!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building are away from the road. Don't know if rooms out front are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Having been twice to eat at the hotel, I would say its a bit hit and miss, the first experience was a good one, it wasn't very busy and we were served quickly and well by the staff, the second time they were ruse he'd off there feet and although friendly and polite at all times I felt they were overwhelmed and the management need to support the staff much better and then this would help reduce the long waiting times.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Leonards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards Hotel

Address: 185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Leonards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKY packages in room available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Leonards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Hotel Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Leonards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.