We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Leonards Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Leonards Hotel to your Saves list
St. Leonards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Not enough staff at hotel, took along time to have our table cleared and when waiting to be served for breakfast it took a good 20mins! And it wasn't even busy, very slow service. Rooms could do with abit of decorating as there were damp stains on ceiling. Not worth the money! Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Only good thing was the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    132
    68
    38
    22
See reviews for
74
149
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went here for a family party and used one of the function rooms which became really hot quickly due to lots of people being there but staff wouldn't allow the doors to the outside patio open for some reason, I also felt the guinness tasted like it was watered down. The bedroom was ok although not worth the £90 I was charged for a very basic room with no toiletries in the bathroom apart from a toilet roll. At breakfast I was one of the first in the room with about 2 small tables with a couple on each. I ordered my full english at 8.30 and by 9.10 it still had not arrived even though people that came in way after me was getting theres, I asked my waitress what the hold up was and she told me it was cos my food had got burnt so I waited patiently till 9.30 when it still had not arrived, I was then told by the manager that she had actually forgot to place my order! Eventually 1 hour and 20mins later my full english arrived which consisted of 1 of each item and the manager was rather rude when I complained about the time I had waited being told mistakes happen. The toast was charred black and uneatable. Not impressed seeing as I went to breakfast early so I could make my train connections. As for the free wi-fi they claim to have I know of only a few people out of the 60+ guests I was at the party with that actually managed to get some sort of signal. I would not stay here again and I will be writing an email to head office about this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

As we were camping nearby we thought it would be nice to go for an evening meal as the weather was miserable outside. We ventured into the restaurant which was mainly filled by those staying in the hotel. The table was sticky despite me seeing it being 'cleaned' (I use the term loosely!). The service was very slow and wasn't much to write home about. Didn't seem very fresh but it was food and we were hungry.

I was expecting a more fresh looking interior as the exterior was what drew us in. There was a member of staff who was running around ragged whilst two young waitresses meandered behind the bar looking slightly bewildered. 20 -30 mins after we ordered food at the bar one of the waitresses came over to ask if we had ordered!!

Think some training wouldn't go amiss for the bar staff. Don't think I'd return in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel approx twice a year for ten years as we have family living in the near vicinity. The toiletries they provide have gone down over the years and now they only provide a small shower gel between two people, no tissues, shampoo and conditioner. The beds are quite comfortable but the rooms are quite tired looking and could do with redecorating. The hotel food has taken a downturn with meals having to be sent back; our family usually join us for meals and they were very disappointed this year.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an upstairs room to be sure of privacy as downstairs rooms have no net curtains m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were staying at the Shamba Holiday Park just down the road and fancied a pub meal for dinner on our first night. Very attractive and inviting pub from the outside and plenty of car parking. Was a little dark inside and so we sat in the fron window area. The service was good, the food was excellent and at a decent price. We all cleared our plates and enjoyed our visit.

As i said, we didn't stay at this hotel but the gardens at the rear looked great, would have been nice waking up of a morning looking out.

Would visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our visit here was planned for dinner & drinks with friends. I totally agree with contributor Charlotte M, our experience seems to have mirrored hers.
Tables were filthy, you had to clear your own before sitting down, the bar staff were exceedingly rude, glasses were smeared.
We left without dining, and will think twice before returning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glucester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, arrived late evening which the hotel had been advised of, ploughed through the bank of smokers outside the main door. A tied easily 10 ins for someone to check us in,and then the member of staff was quite rude to us. Yes they were busy but their attitude was more like one would expect of a fast food outlet, not a hotel. All the decor and fabric of the hotel is tired, the coffee tables in reception were unwiped-yuk! The bedrooms were good, comfortable and clean, tho smelled a bit musty.( they had had a water leak in another bedroom)
Breakfast was good and plentiful, tho again the tables and chairs could have been cleaner.
Fine for a one night stay but wouldn't spend any time in the hotel during the day.

Room Tip: Take a room at the rear upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Leonards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards Hotel

Address: 185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Leonards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKY packages in room available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Leonards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Hotel Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Leonards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.