We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Carvery. Some areas in of attention” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Leonards Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Leonards Hotel to your Saves list
St. Leonards Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
bournemouth
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Carvery. Some areas in of attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Carvery was served by smiling pleasant member of staff, the food was on the whole was hot, for some reason one member of staff was incessant that serving spoons were not left in the dishes but put on serparate plates on another table, which made no sense at all as when you are trying to to put various veg on your plate you don't want to be turning to another table to place spoons back on various plates. We and number of other customers left the spoons in the dishes which seemed to really annoy what I can only assume was the lady manager who even moved one spoon I left in the dish whilst I was trying to serve myself, in fact she had a Basil Fawlty persona about her as if the place would be great if the customers weren't getting in way, it became a running joke on our table watching her hover about carvery moaning and tuting about the spoons in the wrong place. The rest of the staff were helpful and pleasent.
The table we were on seemed to be sticky and the varnish was wearing wearing away, also the mens loo is in need of redecoration

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent visit to St. Leonards. We are glad that your visit overall was enjoyable and have noted your comments regarding the carvery utensils, we will be looking into this situation and will take appropriate measures to ensure this is resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    143
    75
    43
    23
See reviews for
85
165
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thurso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a fabulous although short staY HERE. Staff were very accomodating and helpful. Room was very clean and quite luxurious. Will definitely use this again, it was also very affordable, which was surprising due to the quality of the room.

Room Tip: rooms to the back have french doors opening to a lovely garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
'Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to St. Leonards, it is good to hear that you found our team so helpful, we do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Perhaps the bosses at Greene King should treat themselves to a Sunday lunch here, and see how bad their Carvery really is. Tough beef, dried out potatoes, and vegetables of questionable freshness on offer, just after the restaurant opened for lunch. Some areas of the restaurant are poorly lit, and the paintwork in the toilets needs urgent attention. Considering the volume of passing trade, this establishment should be a goldmine when it comes to food - but it needs to be much better quality than it is. I don't expect to be told: 'Mistakes do happen/we are short-staffed' as an excuse for neglect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your Sunday Carvery. We can only apologise that the carvery did not meet your expectations, we have noted all your comments and will take the necessary steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this Hotel once before, about four years ago, and little has changed. It is still in need of a refurbishment but is a pleasant enough hotel.
There is a lovely view of the extensive gardens from the rear rooms, whilst the front ones overlook the car park and a busy road although you could hardly hear any noise from it.
The bedroom was comfortable and clean and everything worked as it should.
The restaurant offer, two courses for £7.95 could have disappointed but didn't, the food was plentiful and well cooked, we didn't have room for the third course!
One particular member of the Restaurant staff, Linda, was very good indeed and is a credit to the hotel.
The Bar is known as the pilot's bar and two of the pillars are adorned with the signatures of the airmen who gathered there during the war, they include Guy Gibson and Douglas Bader with sketches by John Le Mesurier the actor.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at St. Leonards, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will pass on your thanks to Linda for the excellent service, hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a lovely two night break. The majority of the staff were brilliant - very helpful and pleasant. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was great - lovely buffet for cereal and pastries and an excellent choice of cooked - not your usual 'full english' although that was on the menu, but smoked salmon with scrambled egg, eggs benedict, eggs royale and others.

Will definitely be going again - we have family in the area and have been trying for some time to find a decent and reasonably priced place to stay.

I suppose I should keep quiet about it really as it might be harder to get booked in next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our brilliant Team and our great breakfast …much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed the weekend with my husband, got special offer of only £30 a night. What a bargain. Room not overly large but spotless, good shower, fantastic breakfast, staff very welcoming
and overall i would recommend. The only downside was it was a little walk to the main part of Ringwood but apart from that a good relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I decided to give this place a try as its only about 10 mins from Dorset clinic. It is welcoming with nice staff who are most helpful. I would say my room was clean and comfortable although I was convinced being on ground level where people could peek in. But still it felt safe. The hotel is spacious and they do a carvery n the weekend that is just great. Lovely pork and traditional English beef, smothered in homemade sauce and lots of veggies. And althought I could barely fit it in I had a Sticky Toffee pudding. I slept for an hut after, food induced coma you cannot beat it
Te price was at and only 2 small issues, the toilet is a bit close to wall and TP keeps falling to floor. Also, they forgot my morning call :-( but as luck will have it I was jet-lagged so I woke up but still.
Generally speaking I enjoyed the break my evening dinner and few drinks were pleasant and although I was on my own this trip the staff keep chatting with you. I will surely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room in e back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at St. Leonards Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our fantastic Team really glad you enjoyed our carvery which is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Leonards Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Leonards Hotel

Address: 185 Ringwood Road | St. Leonards, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Leonards Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKY packages in room available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Leonards Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Leonards Hotel Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Leonards Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.