We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing evening meal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Framptons

Framptons
48-50 High Street, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AG, England
(0) 1425 473114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 55 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Tapas, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing evening meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Met some friends for a meal and was very surprised to pay £13.00 for a plate of pasta with a couple of small slices of mushrooms, it was supposed to be spaghetti with a wild mushroom and cream sauce, when I requested black pepper and parmesan the waitress went back to the kitchen and they apparently had neither.
I have found with a few restaurants recently that when they first open the portions are generous and the prices are reasonable but once they have their custom they start to put up prices and the standard of food dissappoints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    45
    23
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very popular - why?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went for a morning hot drink, as I had walked past many times and it was always busy. Managed to get a table and was served, eventually. Quality of food and drink was fine but do not understand the popularity. It has a good atmosphere if you like the "unfinished/cowboy builder" look.
Was a little disappointed to have my request for a bacon bitty turned down at 1103, apparently it stops at 1100.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Brilliant atmosphere, Interesting surroundings and excellent home made food. Well stocked bar and very good for refreshment anytime of the day with lovely home made cakes. An ideal place for a break when walking the dog as they are allowed as well - very civilised.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Frampton's Greatest Hits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Ringwood Brewery tour got our appetite going last Saturday afternoon so my wife and I drove the short distance back to Ringwood High St and found the inviting-looking Framptons.
The front of the restaurant is a very lively bar so not good for a quiet meal at that time but we liked the atmosphere. The decor was tastefully old-fashioned with distempered walls adorned with some mildly risqué little watercolours of glamorous women. Our table was cozy.
The menu had good variation and I ordered the melt-in-your-mouth pork belly which came perched atop a delicious bed of lentils and some finely fresh curly kale. I could have eaten it all again. My wife's clam linguine was delivered as mushroom linguine but the waiter astutely and efficiently brought the right dish back out in a flash. We both agreed that the pasta needed a little something extra but it was very well done. Good wines by the glass too. Definitely recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been here a few times at different times of the day and I can't praise it enough! Love he atmosphere and decor, staff are friendly and helpful, food is good and drinks aren't overpriced.
Nice to have a good independent trader who has gauged his customers needs to perfection.
If you only go to be place in a ringwood, make it this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Framptons also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Framptons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Framptons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.