We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and comfortable Stay - 2nd Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petherton Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Petherton Cottage to your Saves list
Petherton Cottage
Horton Road, Ashley Heath, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Ringwood B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and comfortable Stay - 2nd Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our second trip back to New Forest and Petherton cottage in just under a year. As a couple, who just love clean rooms and good service - this place makes us feel back at home. Tony has been a great host; welcoming, polite and friendly. He's also a good chef and lays a host of options for a sumptuous breakfast. The perfect information guide for local tourism or dinner pubs. In simple words, visiting the same B&B twice speaks for itself. So, if you are considering a trip to the New Forest, then without mincing too many words, I would strongly recommend Petherton Cottage :)

Room Tip: The ground floor Master bedroom has an amazing view to the garden, a perfect sight to wake up to. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from a polite friendly host good breakfast , clean comfortable rooms , helpful with local information , would recommend to everyone and will definitely return ourselves . It was helpful that our dog was allowed to stay as well with prior consent so we could all enjoy walks in the new forest as well as on the beach st nearby Bournemouth .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spotless place with a welcoming host. Spotless room followed by an excellent breakfast the next morning. Tony is a great host, very easy-going and welcoming. My only criticism is single-glazing on a fairly busy road. Despite this, we had a good night's sleep and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with my wife and 2 year old son. It was a nice quiet location, large room with en-suite and a cot was also available. Cooked breakfast was fantastic the following morning - Tony made us feel very welcome and we would definately go back again! Great value at £70 per night incuding breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night with our son, it was lovely and clean. Tony provided an excellent service with a first class choice of breakfasts the following morning. Tony was polite and we found he to be very warm and welcoming, We felt like true guests in his home, we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Family room is adequate enough for 4 adults based on a short term stay.Fantastic central point to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found this hotel on the Rural Dorset site and found it to be a little gem. Lovely room in the main house and the owner is the chef too for breakfast and really brings out the full range of options.

The room was spacious, clean and the bathroom was just right.

Perfect for a family get away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petherton Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petherton Cottage

Address: Horton Road, Ashley Heath, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Petherton Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petherton Cottage Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petherton Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.