We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but.......family room?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moortown Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moortown Lodge to your Saves list
Moortown Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   244 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice but.......family room?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We enjoyed the hotel and the owners were very pleasant. Breakfasts were very tasty and fresh and off menu requests (my son wanted baked beans) were accepted with no fuss.
The owners also gave us a hand drawn list of good restaurants in the area together with a voucher for a free bottle of wine and their recommendations were great.

Our one gripe was the so called family room. This was basically a large double where they had shoehorned in two camp beds onto the floor. One in the corner and the other against the desk and telly. this meat you couldn't sit at the desk, reach or see the telly from wither of them. A family room should at least have propoer beds and for £110 per night we were really quite disappointed weith this aspect of what was otherwise a very pleasant hotel.

PS It's right next to David lloyd which was great for us as we are members.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
56
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Had a lovely stay at the Moortown Lodge B & B in Ringwood. Rooms spotless with lovely touches such as bottled water and chocolates in the room. Free Wifi. Fantastic cooked breakfast...diet out the window if you stay here. The owners are lovely and provided a map of all the restuarants in the town and details of the New Forest plus local events. They also offer discount with David Lloyd next door, which was perfect after a long day biking. Overall a lovely stay, friendly and great location next to the New Forest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I had a very comfortable stay at this small lodge. The room was *spotlessly* clean, spacious and comfortable. The owners were friendly, but not overbearing or intrusive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We had planned to stay nearer to Beaulieu, but the web-reviews of this B&B were so good, that we decided to stay at Moortown Lodge in Ringwood. The B&B was very clean. Breakfast was very good. Eveything was as we expected. There are plenty of places to eat in Ringwood, all within ( our ) walking distance: Mrs Meredith gave us a map of them. The Old Cottage was excellent; the White Hart was good. Roads in and out of Ringwood are very good.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moortown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moortown Lodge

Address: 244 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moortown Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moortown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moortown Hotel Ringwood
Moortown Lodge Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moortown Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.