We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moortown Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moortown Lodge to your Saves list
Moortown Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   244 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 3AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for one night in September. The owner called us a few days before we arrived to check what time we would be getting there. Because of the time we had mentioned he then phoned me back to let me know the town was having a carnival the day we were staying and advised me on road closures which was really helpful. The people who run the lodge are very helpful and offered us local information (which we didn't need on this occasion because we were just passing through).

We had a lovely room on the ground floor, the room was spotless, with a lovely bathroom and all the little extras you hope for; toilettries, robes, coffee/tea, chocolates & biscuits. Also the comfiest bed I think I've ever slept in! Breakfast was made to order by the owners as well as cereals etc laid out, which was very nice.

The location is just on the edge of Ringwood and near the new forest. We were just visiting family so didn't see much of the surrounding area but it seemed like a decent central location.

This is a 'posh B&B' at its best. A teeny bit pricey maybe but probably average for the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
62
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stein, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The location is good for exploring the New Forest en the coast. We stayed in a standard double bedroom that was very small. There was no place to put our luggage. The room en bathroom were very clean en the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay and an absolute bargain compred to other hotels which might not have the same level of service and comfort. We had a great time, Mr and Mrs Meredith were very welcoming and advised on the best places to explore as well as recommending local restaurants. It was lovely to know after a long walk that we has a nice comfortable bed and a spacious room to return to complete with tea, coffee, etc. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order - we would definately recommend and will return.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is very spacious with a four-poster bed and sofa - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Moortown Lodge is superb, with very friendly staff and excellent accommodation..
I was greeted with a very warm welcome, and after a simple check in , was politely shown to my room which was better equipped than some high end hotels that I have stayed at. The breakfast was fantastic.
I would definitely return and would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned after staying 2 nights at this b &b. Reviews have been good so booked hoping for a relaxing break from work. Asked for a quiet room as we could see the lodge was on a fast busy road we were assured our room was quiet (as double glazing had been fitted). Our room on the ground floor at the front was just metres from the road and even with ear bungs in - there was a lot of road noise from early on in the morning. Car park was tight, some nice touches though and the New Forest did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 6 at front has lovely big bed but road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Moortown Lodge was a real find and we were absolutely delighted with our 2 night stay. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel so welcome. We had a very quiet twin room (no.5) at the back of the house which was delightfully cosy with lovely comfy beds and very soft bed linen. Nice touches included fresh coffee on the welcome tray, bottled water, an emergency bag with toothpaste and brush and bath robes. Breakfast was delicious and very efficient, and we were given some excellent recommendations for local places to eat in the evening. Excellent value for money. Would we go back again....absolutely!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my 3rd stay here, which must say something. Rooms are lovely and clean, but ours was slightly on the small side. Courtesy tray includes free mineral water, something a lot of the more expensive hotels don't give you. As in my previous 2 visits, I found the owners to be friendly and helpful.

Location makes it an ideal base for visiting the New Forest, whilst still having the amenities of a small town on your doorstep.

Room Tip: If staying as a couple, pay the small additional charge for a room with a queen size double bed. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moortown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moortown Lodge

Address: 244 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 3AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moortown Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Moortown Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moortown Hotel Ringwood
Moortown Lodge Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moortown Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.