We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff with good food and scrumptious baked treats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tansy Continental Cafe

Tansy Continental Cafe
White Lion Courtyard | Deweys Lane, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AJ, England
1425 479010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Continental, British
Description: Tea Room
Restaurant details
Description: Tea Room
Ringwood, Hampshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Friendly staff with good food and scrumptious baked treats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I meet friends regularly at Tansy which has recently been redecorated with new carpeting and pretty table cloths. Offering the best value in town for a quality full English breakfast, there are also several healthy alternatives. I can also recommend the chocolate, lemon drizzle & coffee & walnut cakes which I have succumbed to in the past!
This little tea room can be very busy at times, especially on Market day (Wednesday). Many of the locals return time & again because the food is consistently of a high standard and the staff are friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Always welcoming. The food is varied and hot. This is the best little restaurant in Ringwood without a doubt. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious and the staff extremely attentive, polite and friendly. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I went into Tansys for an early lunch with friends. The service was excellent from the young polite and helpful staff and the food was delicious. A friendly atmosphere I would thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really personal service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Popped in for a late breakfast with hubby and welcomed warmly. choice of seating and actually had to move ourselves from the window seat from getting too hot and being slightly to close to the cake stand.

we ordered the veggie breakfast with a pot of tea and lemon drizzle cake with coffee. we got the cake and coffee first and then a short wait for the cooked breakfast. Understandable but would have been nicer to have it served together.

There was an item missing from the veggie breakfast option but was quickly remedied with an alternative option which may have been more delicious than the initial offering we think.

The cake we found to be a little dry for our liking but otherwise enjoyed our breakfast meal there,

It's a lovely little quaint cafe with a very personal touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tansy Continental Cafe also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Tansy Continental Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tansy Continental Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.