We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pub food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elm Tree Inn

Elm Tree Inn
Hightown Hill | Hightown, New Forest National Park, Ringwood, England
01425-47-25-16
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 56 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
surrey
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Average pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited for lunch, lovely day, sat outside. Menu quite large, but typical pub menu, with a few specials. Service could not be faulted, food ordered inside, and was brought to our table.

Two of us had the mackerel starter which was delicious. Two of us had the scampi main course, scampi was completely tasteless, as were the chips. An extra portion of tartare sauce helped to give some flavour. Coleslaw rather bland. But a salad of prawns, parma ham, was praised highly.

Where can one get tasty, juicy scampi these days???

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    58
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second time visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the second time that we have eaten here and we were not disappointed again. The menu is changed every 6 months which is great. The service and welcome was lovely once again and the food was amazing. Huge portions cooked and presented excellently.
Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a family party of 11 people staying in The New Forest on a bank holiday weekend.
This was a difficult mixture in lots of ways - particularly as it was a family reunion, so we wanted to be together as much as possible.
From the very start, the staff of the Elm Tree Inn bent over backwards to help. Because the restaurant was full, they put on a special table for us in the bar so that firstly, we would actually get at meal at a very busy time, and secondly, so that we could all sit together.
The food was lovely and the staff were really friendly.
We had such a good time the first night, we went back and they did the same the second.
Both nights we had a really relaxed, family time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Pub in Ringwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We moved to Ringwood 2years ago and regularly eat out.We found the Elm Tree and how lucky are we, The food at the Elm Tree is the best ever,plenty plenty of it the puds are the best around . Tim and Alan the owners and of course Lucy were so very nice and helpful, in three week we took our friends who were over from Oz there 6 times and they love it there. Thank you Elm Tree very much be back soon. Joe and Sylvie


Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The food & service speaks for itself.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

As a visitor from Australia, our friends took us to The Elm Tree Inn, in under 3weeks we went 6 times, loved the food, the staff (Lucy) owners (Tim & Alan) who could not be more helpful. Want to take pub & food & staff back to Oz, give it a go you won't be sorry. Thank you guys... A foodies memory for us. Lillian & John Spender. (Sydney Australia)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Tree Inn also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Elm Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elm Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.