We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent locally sourced food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Trullo - CLOSED

Al Trullo
34 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1DN, England
01425 482555
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent locally sourced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a little disappointing experience last time we tried Al Trullo but, since then, the management has changed and we had a fabulous evening. Beautiful food which we learned was locally sourced and the atmosphere cosy and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

We have been to Ringwood numerous times but did not know this restaurant was there as it is slightly out of the town centre. Recommendation was made by Sue & Brett at Little Paddock where we were staying again.

The restaurant had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Service was excellent and unobtrusive and food was fresh and very tasty. I had the mussels to start and seafood taglietelli for main. We will definately return when we are next in Ringwood.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and very friendly Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love Italian food and have eaten in many Bournemouth restaurants before. Our friend recommended to visit the Al Trullo and I have to say we were very happy with service and the food was great, just like we been told. The prices are half of the Bournemouth restaurants and very friendly place. Food arrived on time and we enjoyed free shots of liqueur on the end of the meal. We will definitely visit Al Trullo again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went last night for our 2nd visit to the restaurant as we had previously enjoyed our evening, and took a couple of friends with us, hoping they would enjoy it as much as we had. We were all very pleased with the ambience of the restaurant, the choices on the menu and the friendly yet unobstrusive waiters. The food was delicious and we were certainly not rushed at all. We also appreciated the complimentary bread and trio of dips, and also the digestifs offered to all after the meal. Thank you to all the staff, we will look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The New Forest at its best - Smashing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Al Trullo is tucked away in the sleepy little village of Ringwood on the Hampshire Dorset border and it is well worth a deviation if you're heading east/west or, in our case, a worthwhile 30 mile round trip to enjoy fantastic homemade pasta and a reliably high standard of service. It is unpretentious, family run and very, very good. It offers excellent value and some exquisitely tasty food. Try the pear and gorgonzola raviloli and you'll be hooked. There is very limited parking outside the restaurant in Christchurch Rd, so you'll need to park in the big open space carpark signposted as you come off the dual carriageway or better still, in the main market square and walk back towards Friday's Cross [ taking a peek at the local deli and the excellent independent bookshop on your way] and turn east along Christchurch Rd. Everywhere in Ringwod is in easy walking distance and this little jem is well worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Trullo also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Verwood, Dorset
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Trullo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.