We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Trullo - CLOSED

Al Trullo
34 Christchurch Road, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1DN, England
01425 482555
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Four of us visited on Tues. 5th Dec. We used this restaurant many times before it changed hands - it was always good. Now we think the food is even better. The waiter was friendly and helpful from the start. When booking I mentioned coeliac, and on arrival was told they had gluten free pasta. This is a first for me in an Italian restaurant. The place was full by 8.30, but we didn't have to wait long for anything. Excellent all round. Definitely going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Italian - would definitely go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am writing this review as I have read the previous messages and completely disagree! I took my husband last Friday evening for his birthday. He had garlic mushrooms to start and I had garlic bread. Very good sized portions. We then both had pizza for main, mine being a meat choice whereas my husband chose the seafood pizza. The seafood on it looked delicious - enormous muscles and prawns. The pizza is not like anything you would get in chain Italian Restaurants - it is freshly cooked and tastes delicious. My husband said it is very unusual to have topping for the whole of the pizza and not just crust left!
Finally for dessert we had tiramisu and profiteroles.
Overall a very pleasant experience and have definitely recommended to people locally.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It started from the minute we walked into the restaurant! Arriving on time for our booking at 8:15 pm on a very cold Friday evening, we were told that our table wasn't ready and we'd have to wait. No matter where we stood we were in the way, so we had to go back outside into the cold.
Finally seated, the waiter, a youngish Italian man with very short hair, came for the drinks order. He URGENTLY needed a manners transplant, as his attitude was absolutely diabolical. When asked what the seasonal veg was, accompanying the steak, we were told ....well it's just veg.. you know, veg...like broccoli, carrots....He was really rude and ignorant, but we decided to stick it out, as we have had really good food and service at this restaurant many times in the past. Then it was starting to dawn on us... had it changed hands..??The other waiter was pleasant and at least had some manners.
It was only 8:30 pm by now and we all tried to order fillet steaks, but guess what? They didn't have any 'left'. I cannot understand how a so-called reputable restaurant could possibly have run out of fillet steak by that time on a Friday evening? Ordered sirloin instead. Calamari starter was very chewy, prawn starter was very nice. Sirloins were unbelievably thin for the price and quite gristly, the Diane sauce was full of grit, presumably from mushrooms that hadn't been cleaned, the cannelloni was just a dish of spinach and ricotta mush, (stuck to the dish it was so overcooked we couldn't even find the pasta!). Would have been nice to have a reasonable amount of veg too... it was nice and fresh, but the amount we got was a joke. Pizza was ok but dry.
The complimentary drinks didn't help to 'butter us up', they just managed to keep us there 5 minutes longer than we really wanted to stay. No one bothered to say thank you or goodbye. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. What a shame... this used to be such a wonderful restaurant and it has been spoilt by people who really don't give a hoot about their customers, unlike the old chap who used to have it.
It embarrassed us, as we took a friend there for his 50th birthday treat.. ruined what we expected to have been a great end to the day.
Wouldn't recommend...definitely won't be going there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Food nothing exceptional given the cost. Pizza could have come straight from a freezer. Pasta average to poor. Ham or whatever it was in the carbonara was tasteless. Pleasant atmosphere and busy place. Get the impression some staff are in training. It is an ok place but do not be surprised if t is no more than average food and service. This is a third visit so have not been put off but it is convenient to meet friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, but hardly overwhelming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Popular neighbourhood Italian restaurant with a large menu and specials. Four of us each had 3 courses which varied from disappointing to very good. Pizza was not good at all. Pasta was average, Sea Bass very good. Starters were variable, selection of salami excellent, calamari also.
Mackerel special had a bland tomato sauce. Desserts ok, limoncillo cheesecake a trifle dry, but Pavarotti pancakes with ice-cream was excellent. Service very good and friendly, and complimentary liquors much appreciated. Would go again, but would avoid pizza and pasta.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Trullo also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Verwood, Dorset
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Trullo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.