We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Pub

Hare and Hounds Pub
Durnstown | Sway, New Forest National Park, Ringwood SO41 6AL, England
01590 682404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 57 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hare and Hounds is a great traditional pub in the New Forest, the food is hearty and plentiful and very good quality, the portions are man size so make sure you are hungry before you go, would defiantly eat here again, the menu is also quite extensive and caters well for vegetarians

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Really Good Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Hare & Hounds is a great place to meet before a long walk on the Forest, or afterwards to refresh yourselves. Although primarily an eatery, they keep a wide selection of beers and wines exceptionally well. The annual Beer Festival is always good value, though usually very busy. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best lasange you can get!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hare and Hounds does the best lasange i have ever tasted! I have been here muiltiple times and always ended up going for the lasange and it has always been delicous! My friends have had pie, roast dinner and they have always enjoyed their meal!

Great vaule for excellent home cooked food!

Cant wait to visit again !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Good for finishing point for New Forest walk or bike ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good for finishing point for New Forest walk or bike ride but also has a decent sized car park if you want to drive there! Food seems mostly home cooked and generous portions. If you have a bagette (£4.85) you get a huge bagette, salad and chips. I tried some of the Gastro local items and had Lymington Sea Bream (£12) with side vegetables. Meal for two with a bottle of wine came to £35. Not blown away by the food but good competent all round - would go again if passing but would not drive out of my way. Sister pubs are The White Hart in Lymington and The Smugglers Inn in Milford-on-Sea.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay in New Milton. Whilst there we visited the Hare & Hounds at Sway on four separate occasions, and although we did not eat there we had a great time on each visit. The service was very good and a fine selection of beers and wines were on offer. We were made to feel very welcome and will definitely return there on our next visit to the New Forest. Well done to Brendan, Julia, Jamie and all the staff.
P.S. Although we didn't eat there this time.The food looked fabulous and we shall certainly eat there in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds Pub also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Hare and Hounds Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.