We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Haunt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

Masala
9 Meeting Ho Lane, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AY, England
01425477100
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 55 Restaurants in Ringwood
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Regular Haunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful and always look after you. They don't have a licence so you bring your own wine or drink but they provide you with glasses and a bottle opener!

I have never had a bad meal there and will quite often try something new and they will advise you based on your likes and dislikes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found this small restaurant/takeaway by accident whilst driving home to Hampshire after a day in Bournemouth. Very very small with only 20 covers, but immensley cosy and as it was a weekday night there was no one else in the Restaurant part which meant we were served straight away. The food (lamb madrass & lamb rogan) was very nice and plenty of meat in the serving,and more importantly not overpriced like so many are today, only negative point was, we were told before sitting down that there was no licence which didn't bother us as we don't drink so asked for pure orange juice which they didn't do, so ended up with Tango!!. All in all very satisfied and will stop off there again when in that area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Indian take-away with a small, cosy restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service here is great, the staff are very friendly and although they haven't got a licence they let you bring your own alcohol and they don't charge corkage. The food is lovely and reasonably priced with a good selection of dishes including vegetarian options. We went with a group of friends and had a very enjoyable evening and like the way the staff don't hurray you so we could chat without feeling rushed. The eating area is very small and can only seat about 20 people but when we were there only one other table was being used which was unusual for a Saturday night. As it is so small it would be worth booking, we had a range of dishes and they were all excellent so I can't recommend any one dish although the mixed grill did look lovely but it was huge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely superb. Delivery is fast and when eating in service is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I live near Salisbury and would happily drive from there to Ringwood to get a Curry from Masala.
They also do delivery and often arrives long before the estimated time.
Absolutely brilliant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, Ringwood
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been having "Take Aways" from the Masala since we moved to Dorset from Surrey some 3 years ago. The food is superb and compares very favourably with the best that Surrey has to offer. I have not been into the premises as I believe that it is not really a sit down restaurant with only a couple of tables. However the food is really great if you want Take Away. The service can be a bit erratic though, depending at what time you order and how busy they are. All in all great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.