We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value takeaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

Masala
9 Meeting Ho Lane, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AY, England
01425477100
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 55 Restaurants in Ringwood
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great value takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

There are better Indian restaurants in Ringwood, however neither of these come close to the value for money that Masala can offer. Big portions, loads of sauce, plenty of meat, decent sides. 90% of the taste 50% of the price!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for Takeaways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This review is based on their takeaway service, they deliver for free but if you collect then sometimes you get a discount. I think their prices are very competitive and the portion sizes are generous, unlike other restaurants in the area. I usually have the garlic chilli chicken and lamb or chicken tikka bhuna, just make sure you don't accidently put a chilli into your mouth because they are very hot.

I wouldn't bother eating in the restaurant, there are only about two tables and they don't sell alcohol, if you have to bring your own then you may as well get a takeaway delivered to your house!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not great.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

It is a tiny restaurant, yet we had to wait an age for our food - so long that we lost our appetites! Staff not at all attentive - too busy serving their take away customers.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We use Masala mostly for takeaways as the food is fine and very reliable + they deliver locally for free.

It is also an interesting place to visit as it is very small and intimate; also they don't have a license for alcohol but they did not look to charge if you take your own drink in with you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Visiting the area a local recommended this small Indian restaurant with only four or five tables. The food was good and staff quick to take orders and serve soft drinks. They have several dishes that are different to that available at many indian restaurants. They don't seem to serve alcoholic drinks but happy to let you bring your own like I know other Indian restaurants I have visited in the past also do. Will visit again next time I am in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.