We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Ringwood town centre” 2 of 5 stars
Review of original white hart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added original white hart to your Saves list
original white hart
4 Market Place, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overnight in Ringwood town centre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed in the White Hart pub for a night whilst visiting friends in the area.
The pub was friendly enough and had a clean bed. The floor in the room was dirty and in need of deep cleaning and the bathrooms need modernising.
For one night it was fine but maybe on the expensive side for what you got.
The breakfast was served by friendly staff but not the best food or selection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    24
    26
    14
See reviews for
22
37
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

An excellent find and will be definitely returning (already booked). The staff couldn't have been more helpful. particularly when we had to extend our stay.
This is a very old building and has some really fun and quirky foibles...but instead of criticising, enjoy the smiles they give.
Food is good value for money and tasty - a few issues with shorages but this was due to the changeover of menu and so will quickly be resolved - again, taken with a sense of humour...not a problem.
Some dust in the rooms, but... this is an old building with old ceilings etc. so a little dust can be expected.
The overriding thing though is the staff who are a fantastic team, led by Amanda and newly supported by Russ......can't fault them, any problem has a solution and they are more than happy to 'go the extra mile'

Room Tip: The hotel dates back to 1878, so don't expect what you would from a new sterile box. Like the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very friendly staff but a run down product. I only stayed one night whilst on a hiking weekend so it was fine, but would have been disappointed if I had been looking for somewhere other than to just rest my head. Large pub with loud young clientele, (drag act was the entertainment that evening) evening food basic but cheap, (no restaurant you eat in the pub) room was okay and bed comfy and clean, bathroom old, tired and grungy. Breakfast was full English and good.Word of warning - Ringwood is ROUGH! Police present on High Street, including the Police van driving up and down all saturday evening : /

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amanda and her team made both myself an my Mum very welcome.
The room was comfortable, clean and the beds great. Our towels were changed daily.
The staff were always on hand, obiliging and it felt like 'home from home'.
Breakfast was lovely too! Information was freely given to us where to go and what to do, recommendations of where to eat etc.
Thank you very much to all.

Room Tip: Any I am sure are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I forgot to give a review of this hotel when we stayed there for a short Spring break. It was pretty dreadful then but I thought I ought to look at some recent reviews to see if things had improved at all. If everything was now excellent, I wouldn't be writing this review but, from what I can see, nothing much has changed so although this review is late, everything I ought to have written in the Spring would seem to have as much validity now as when we visited 6 months ago.
The hotel is in an excellent location in Ringwood and outwardly appears fine; 'olde worlde' but attractive, albeit with a somewhat care-worn appearance and inside it seemed much the same.
When we checked in, we were given a key to our room by a less than enthusiastic receptionist, which didn't bode well. We discovered that our room wasn't in the hotel itself, but out the back of the hotel, in an annex block. The tiny room was almost filled by the double bed and the whole place looked as if it hadn't been cleaned properly for weeks. There was thick dust on the fixtures, fittings and windowsill, and cobwebs on the bedhead. The carpet was dirty and the furniture was old and in poor condition with cigarette burn marks on the dresser and a knob missing from the drawers. The net curtains were filthy and security looked problematic as part of the door surround was rotten. The bathroom was ok. It looked newish and everything worked, but there was an unfinished gap between the tiles and the floor which didn't look great and begged a question about hygiene. The shower screen was filthy and the mirror hadn't been cleaned.
The bed was ok, but sleep came slowly because the room was next to the hotel's driveway to the car park and also adjacent to the area set aside for smokers. At £69.95 per room per night we expected considerably better.
Our evening meal in the bar wasn't great. We were persuaded to eat in the hotel by the 20% discount given to guests but the dry overcooked pies didn't compensate for the reduction. UHT milk was served with the coffee and when we asked if we could have fresh milk, we were told that none was available in the hotel, despite a supermarket being open 2 minutes walk away.
Breakfast was taken in a room more akin to a school refectory than a hotel dining room. The chef sported a natty uniform of jogging pants and a reversed baseball cap whilst he cooked to the sound of pop music which vied for our attention with the news broadcast from a large television in the dining room. If you wanted the advertised porridge, there wasn't any. The 'fresh fruit bowl' boasted two old apples and nothing else for the 4 days we were there, and even when they went, they were not replaced by any other fruit. Coffee and hot water for tea was self service from large thermos dispensers. Tacky for an hotel. Surprisingly, fresh milk was available at breakfast! The 'Full English' was adequate but not of the best quality with tinned tomatoes rather than freshly grilled. Thin white barely toasted bread was rationed to two slices per couple.
Had we had anywhere else to stay, we'd have left, but all the local B&Bs were unable to accommodate us for the period of our break.
When we left, we tried to find a manager to whom we could address our complaints only to be told that the hotel manager was recovering from a celebration the previous night and no other manager was available.
The Original White Hart appears to be a hotel run by complacent staff for their own benefit and not that of their guests, and it should either close down or have a complete makeover reopening with a skilled, caring and conscientious manager who can motivate.
All in all, the hotel is not a place in which we would ever want to stay again and we have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending that prospective guests look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and had a very pleasant stay, but three years later this place has gone down hill. The rooms at the back are tiny, not very clean and have terrible sound proofing, we had to listen to an amorous couple for the best part of the early hours!

The breakfast was terrible, I felt quite ill afterwards and the coffee was dreadful. On a plus side the rooms have fantastic showers and the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If all you are looking for a room over a pub in the centre of town with a good breakfast and with free parking, then this place is OK. The land lady was friendly enough, the ale was good. OK if you are just passing through.
It's expensive for what you get if you pay full price though, and it could really do with a clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to original white hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about original white hart

Address: 4 Market Place, New Forest National Park, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your original white hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original White Hart Hotel Ringwood
Original White Hart Ringwood, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage original white hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.