We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once is enough!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White Rabbit to your Saves list
The White Rabbit
Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Berks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“once is enough!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Decided to stay here for a night while travelling through the forest. For £50 we weren't expecting much. When checking had to go to the bar for someone, an off-duty member of staff checked us in, however she was welcoming and helpful.
On the way to our room (6) it smelt of dogs, and mould! In the room, we couldnt open any windows as they were screwed shut, also noticed we had to keep curtains closed if we didnt want to be seen by guests in neighbouring room!!! The shower tray was covered in mould, the soap dispenser had not been replenished.
We'd asked for a bottle of wine to be in the room for arrival, which it was, apart from the fact it had been opened and was not full (not exactly what i wanted to pay for!!), however the girl on reception did deal with this swiftly!

We decided to have dinner at the hotel, both went for the Sirloin, and for an extra £2 i went for a surf and turf, but was given Fried eggs with the steak and no Scampi, ten minutes later the scampi did arrive, shame i'd almost finished my meal!!! The Steak we found, was very fatty!

On checking out we couldnt find any staff, so just ended up leaving the room key on reception desk, lucky we'd paid up front!!!
Maybe me and my partner are being picky as we both work in hotels, but just thought this should be mentioned. We didnt complain to the staff as we know what its like dealing with complaints, also for £50 we weren't expecting much!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    24
    28
    35
See reviews for
44
84
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

After reading previous critical reports on this hotel, we found the quality of service much improved on previous reports. Food good, staff friendly and breakfast available, unlike before.
This hotel does not need much more to gain an even higher rating.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mud
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

it was an extreamly happy welcome, the staff all seemed lovely and very helpful. great vaue for money. also very accommidating. set in a beautiful spot, would definatly stay there again.
Yes it could do with a little up lift, very loud wall paper, but a lovely hotel.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable. staff friendly.
  • Disliked — could do with modernising
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnstaple
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

well, what can i say, dont really know where to start!
This hotel is probably the worst i have ever stayed in, and i have stayed in quite a few! Having parents who were hotelliers (only a small hotel -but run well! ) growing up in the trade i am used to a good starndard in a hotel and this is not one!!!
The place has got a lot of potential, its situated well with nice big gardens and the hotel itself looks ok and the room sizes are good, thats about as far as my complements go im afraid!
we arrived at night (9 pm) and the walk from the car to the entrance is unlit, up some steps and around the garden furniture with suitcases in the dark and the rain was quite a hazard! The manager booked us in ( seemed quite young to be the manager, who we later named mickey mouse! ) and showed us to our room. When opening the door, the manager did tell us that they were an 'old hotel' and some of the rooms were 'old looking', that they were. I have added some photos so you can see for yourself. The room was a family room- huge. It had 2 double beds, 1 single and a cot with an ensuite. The curtains were falling off the rails and we could not close them properly. This poured light into the room early in the morning and didnt give that much privacy at night with the light on! The didnt look nice either. The windows were black, the locks did not work and the child safety latch was broken, so any small child would be able to get out of the window onto the unsafe looking flat roof! see photos. good feature for a 'family' room, huh?
next there were cracks in the walls, some quite big. The shower was dirty with black mould growing in the corner of the shower tray. There was a toilet roll holder but it has no inner tube to place the toilet roll, so simple to fix! There were tiles off by the radiator where it has leaked and black with mould, just NOT NICE AT ALL!!!
To top our stay off, we went out on the first day to return to find our bedroom door unlocked! someone had been into our room to swap one of the beds- took a double bed away and replaced it with a single although had not locked the door!!! i had my digital camera, mobile phone, perfume, jewelery etc, all of which had been left for anyone to help themselves to! The room hadnt been serviced either, cups still dirty, bin not emptied, no coffee refill etc. When i went to reception to speak to the manager it was closed. The duty manager was running the bar ( off duty manager drinkin in bar with staff) didnt know anything about it, i was told it would be looked into! The manager then came to our room and tried to tell me that I had left the door open! when i challanged him, he was adament that i had left the door open, he knew this because it was himself and his chambermaid who had swapped the beds! when i asked why he had not shut the door and locked it after he was finished he replied because i do not have a master key! please tell me, what type of hotel have you ever heard of that does not have a master key? When challanged about this he mumbled something about having one but it wasnt in the hotel! This man was just talking rubbish! He ended the conversation by saying, well, whatevr and walking away! Im sure they do not teach you that in NVQ leisure and tourism, if he ever did such a course! Later that night there was some commotion from the next room, a large group having a party, our room smelled like someone was smoking in it ( considering everwhere shold be non smoking!) The music, shouting etc went on for over an hour before someone got them to shut up, but it was 3.30 am and the walls are paper thin! Overall, my stay in this hotel was a complete mistake, even though it is one of the cheepest in the new forest, i wouldnt reccommend this hotel to anyone, stay elsewhere, even if it costs a bit more, its worth the money, we have learnt our mistake!

  • Liked — going home!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Rabbit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.