We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny Farthing Hotel to your Saves list
Penny Farthing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed and poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm not sure if the hotel has changed management or the previous reviewers have lost their senses but I was very disappointed having paid nearly £100 for a double room. Arriving early evening after a glorious sunny day we were shown to a room, not in the hotel, but an adjoining house. The room was basically an upstairs bedroom of a house with a small bathroom attached. Although clean (apart from a used, dirty facial wipe found in the top drawer of the dressing table!) the accommodation was small and the shower under powered. Checkout time was 10.30am and Sunday breakfast was limited to 8am to 9.30am. This limitation obviously affected the quality of service. We were left to seat ourselves and it was only by bravely staring at the intimidating restaurant manager that we got served. The couple next to us had been waiting 20 minutes. The young girls serving we're perfectly nice and accommodating and I was dismayed to hear one of them being bullied by the intimidating lady for not laying a tablecloth properly. The breakfast was over cooked and nowhere near the quality as previously reviewed. I travel extensively and have to say this hotel is far below the standards I expect for the price I paid. A lovely little town which deserves a better hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jami mike, Owner at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the review – no, no, we have all been here for years, alas on a busy night we have failed to meet your expectations and I am very sorry. We are very busy with many repeat bookings and are flexible with check in and out times if required.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
75
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a last minute booking but turned out to be a very good choice. Despite being situated on the main road into town noise is not too much of a problem. On arrival the young lady on reception was extremely helpful and polite. My room was on the top floor and at the rear of the hotel so was nice and quiet, (there are no lifts so if you have trouble with your legs ask for a room on a lower floor). Although small it was clean, tidy and had a comfortable double bed. No bath but an adequate shower. Breakfast was excellent. A choice of at least 10 cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruits in juice, plus a full English, which was both hot and plentiful, so much so I really didn't need a lunch whilst out. All the staff that I met were extremely polite and friendly. The location is ideal for walking breaks and the coast is just a short drive away. all in all I would definitely recommend the "Penny Farthing".

Room Tip: If you have leg problems and cant climb stairs ask for a lower floor room. If you want real quiet th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wev wanted a resonably priced stop over in the area and we chose the Penny Farthing as it had good access to the pubs and restaurants of Lyndhurst. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was fine, the breakfast best of the week, and overall the hotel was good value. We would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent four nights here in June 2013. Very pleasant, good position for walking and exploring the New Forest and surrounding area. Clean, comfortable with delightful friendly staff. Breakfasts plentiful with a choice of part or full English although nothing seemed to be any trouble if variations to this are requested.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been a few times now and always stay in a triple or family room. Definitely prefer the 1st floor rooms to the 2nd, as the ones on top floor are small and a bit stuffy. All very clean but definitely think the upstairs rooms need a fan as standard.
The Triumph Room we stayed in on our previous visit was amazing - spacious and clean and perfect for a family really.
The breakfast is delicious with good selection. Staff are great in all areas - so friendly and helpful - make you feel very welcome. A great little spot and the location is fantastic for walking into Lyndhurst.

Room Tip: Stay on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The room was nicely presented, the staff was exceptionally friendly and the breakfast very satisfactory. We also got a great recommendation from the staff at reception with regards to what to see, they provided us with a printed itinerary with suggestions for what to do in one day which covered all the highlights. If you're only in the area for a few days definitely ask for this as it was well worth following. The walk along the Ober Water was particularly delightful. Restaurant-wise, the Waterloo Arms pub is about a 10 minute walk away and has a beautiful garden at the back and good food, and I can highly recommend the Oak Inn which is a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading some other reviews I was a bit nervous but I found it friendly, clean and a prime location. All the staff were polite and helpful.would come here definitely again.all though it is based on a main road traffic is slow moving as village at one end. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lyndhurst
#2 Family Hotel in Lyndhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar with free Wi-Fi, private car park and we also offer garaging for bikes, etc. In addition to bed and breakfast we also have self-catering properties.From 2013 we are proud to be upgraded to Three Stars Metro Hotel grading following February undercover AA inspection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.