We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny Farthing Hotel to your Saves list
Penny Farthing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a weekend here with my boyfriend was fantastic, clean and near by to everthing. The staff were so helpfull and breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and cosy. Really pleased we choose here, we be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
75
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brede, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Penny Farthing many times over the last 20 years and have always found the standard of the hotel to be more than above the best. The staff, accommodation and food are excellent. The location is ideal for investigating the New Forest.

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the areas of the hotel and have never encountered any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed as a family, we had a seperate twin room for our teenage boys - couldn't fault anything, staff very friendly, breakfast superb, free wii, two minute walk to several good pubs with excellent food, will definately stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I regularly stay over in Lyndhurst on Business and now only use The Pennyfarthing. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the rooms are very well kept, the breakfast provides an excellent choice of which to start the day, and the convience of free wi-fi provides the flexability I need for out of hours working. Central location and easy parking makes it ideal for easy access to Lyndhurst and its shops, pubs and restaurant.
The staff always make me very welcome and have often gone out their way to provide additional help way and above normal expectations. I look forward to many more stays at the excellent small hotel. The politeness I receive and the humour and courteousy of the hotel staff always makes my stay there pleasant and stress free.

Room Tip: Request rooms at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for it's location and discovered a gem of a hotel in the heart of the New Forest.
Friendly welcome, efficient reception and pleasantly surprised with the room which was warm and cosy (on a cold December evening) ,very nicely furnished and had everything you need for a comfortable stay. Slept well and had a genuine 'Full English' breakfast that set me up for the whole day. All in all excellent and super value . I will definitely return there at the next opportunity.

Room Tip: My room at the front of the hotel was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our group stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. All were happy with their rooms, very clean, and the excellent breakfast was a great start to the day. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and created a great atmosphere at the hotel. It's very convenient for Lyndhurst and the local pubs and restaurants. Easy access to the many walks in the forest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very warm welcome and efficient check-in. Comfortable well appointed ensuite room - very clean! Warm homely lounge with reasonably stocked bar. Great breakfast, lots of choice and well cooked. Just what I wanted. Even had its own car park, a bit of a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lyndhurst
#2 Family Hotel in Lyndhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar with free Wi-Fi, private car park and we also offer garaging for bikes, etc. In addition to bed and breakfast we also have self-catering properties.From 2013 we are proud to be upgraded to Three Stars Metro Hotel grading following February undercover AA inspection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.