We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny Farthing Hotel to your Saves list
Penny Farthing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Friendly professional staff, large clean rooms, excellent no nonsense breakfast. Good honest value for money and ideal location to explore the beautiful new forest. Have now moved to area but would definitely recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    59
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
75
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here just for a night stop over.. a getaway!!! so pleased we did.. its a 2 minute walk to Lyndhurst, had a great meal at the indian and a great night sleep at the hotel.Staff were so helpful and friendly and the breakfast was 10/10!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Over the past six years, while working away, my firm has used The Penny Farthing regularly for its employees. I must have stayed in every room and the cottages over those years. I've never been disappointed with the hotel, room, staff... In fact, I look forward to staying here (when I have to stay out because of work). I only want Mike to put Peanuts back on the Bar.. Come on Mike !
An employee of RIPPLE..

Room Tip: Difficult to get a 7.5 ton waggon on the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, Very good first impression in entering a very comfortable and welcoming reception/lounge.
The staff are very friendly and helpful in recommending local eateries. They also have a list of local menus in the lounge.
The rooms are very comfortable.
Great location, 5 mins walk from town centre, plenty of parking and easy access from M27
Would certainly visit here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We have stayed at the Penny Farthing several times now, on the recommendation of a friend. We needed somewhere in the New Forest as a base, as our Autistic daughter is
in a residential placement in the area, and we like to visit her regualarly.
The thing I love is the consistency. Everything is always spotlessly clean and the staff
are always very friendly and helpful. In the mornings they provide a beautiful full English breakfast, but they are always happy to do me poached eggs if I am not that hungry, and these are very good too!
I love the rooms, they are very cozy and welcoming. The position of the hotel is good
to, as there are several pubs and restaurants within a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Stayed here with a colleague due to a local meeting, room was well appointed and showed personal touches not the clinical large chain decor. The staff were helpfull and pointed us to a good local pub for dinner. Good to see the owner at breakfast in a hands on capacity. Good value for money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here with my wife in mid October and we felt we could not stay a second night due to the noise from other rooms and the road outside. The sound proofing is very poor. We felt the room was cold and dated and there appeared to be a restriction on heating times in the rooms (even in October)! We stayed one night instead of two and paid for that night, although I don't think it was nearly worth the £88 we paid. On checking our credit card statement I found that we had been charged for the second night too even though we had clearly checked out and been given a receipt confirming one nights payment. When I phoned to address this, the manager said it was their terms and conditions that you pay even if you don't stay, which I would say at the least is very disappointing and very poor customer service. Please check terms and conditions before booking, as while this may well be the case and the hotel within their rights to do this, I am extremely surprised that the hotel upheld the rule on this occasion, and I was very disappointed with the Managers response, which even if lawful can only be described as a litle unethical (charging people for something they have not used)! We certainly would never stay here again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jami mike, Owner at Penny Farthing Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
This review is from the previous reviewers’ husband and regrettably will drag our trip advisor rating down. Our Terms and conditions are as other Hotels and have presented us no problems over the many years traded as we are very fair and never wish to spoil someone’s break or unfairly take their hard earned cash. If we were unfair firstly Barclaycard would take away our credit card machine and secondly we would not have the return of so many repeat guests leisure and businesses that enjoy the Penny Farthing Hotel and watch us continue to add, improve and re-invest. Regrettably we cannot please all the people all the time – but boy we do try! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Farthing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Farthing Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lyndhurst
#2 Family Hotel in Lyndhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny Farthing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penny Farthing Hotel is ideally situated just off the High Street in Lyndhurst Village Centre, a minute's walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. Southampton 15/20mins east, Bournemouth and Christchurch 30mins west. We have a variety of rooms all have en-suite facilities, TV and tea/coffee tray. A comfortable lounge and licensed bar with free Wi-Fi, private car park and we also offer garaging for bikes, etc. In addition to bed and breakfast we also have self-catering properties.From 2013 we are proud to be upgraded to Three Stars Metro Hotel grading following February undercover AA inspection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Penny Farthing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Farthing Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.