We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag Hotel

The Stag Hotel
69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 37 restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

bad food, bad beer, bad staff! unorganised and food was cold and tasted microwaved. Will stay away from now on

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    24
    38
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

very poor service waited an hour for our food,. food was very average.had to make three selections before we found something they had not run out of

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just what you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

It's been a cold damp day working over in the new forest so all I am looking for is a quiet chilled evening and where better then the stag hotel. The restaurant is a must for anyone in the area. The atmosphere is great, it truly is a place for sitting back and chilling to the soft back ground music and listening to couples and family's having a great time. The menu isn't what you would find in what i would call a townie pub, with such a great choice of foods and the pies are wonderful as well. I would recommend this restaurant to any one

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Popped in after a nice walk around the New Forest. the pub is laid out nicely and decorated with old English memorabilia. Good selection of beers on tap. A nice beer garden at the rear. Clean toilet facilities.

-Disliked the fact their selection of snacks were limited, but this is very minor

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little gem in the New Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the New Forest where we stayed at The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst. All in all a very enjoyable & excellent value for money stay. The staff were very friendly & accomadating from arrival to departure. Although we didnt eat an evening meal, the breakfast & lunch were both very nice. The main reason for our stay was to visit the motor muesum @ Beaulieu which was only a short drive through the forest & proved to be an excellent day out.
Would definetly recommend to others & stay here again in the future

J & G Russon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag Hotel also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.