We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modernized hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7NF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET £10 OFF EVERY NIGHT
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great modernized hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Greeted by friendly helpful staff it has a well set up parking area with an arrival area directly outside the hotel to unload/load luggage the room was clean large and organized and a largish well set up Bath room. This hotel in the middle of lyndhurst close to pubs and other eateries as well as the New forest and attractions like Beaullie and other museums ideal base for touring this area of UK. The bar and dining room was economically priced and good quality. all round an enjoyable stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    236
    81
    28
    23
See reviews for
76
388
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-Upon-Avon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent cheerful and helpful staff, comfortable bed, great breakfast (excellent poached eggs).

Ideally situated for New Forest and nearby pubs and restaurants were excellent quality.

Car parking,secure and at the rear of the Hotel.

Follow signs for "Emery Down" to avoid traffic congestion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a four poster room and had a great time. The room was large and had a good bathroom with an excellent shower.
Only complaint about the room was that despite having a bath in the bathroom it was not possible to reach the (fixed) soap dispensers when actually in the bath. A detail I know but quite important when you are actually in the water.
Despite the fact that our room fronted a very busy road the sound proofing was so good we didn't notice. The garden is a great place to sit on sunny days.
Finally, breakfast is excellent. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. A tip though is to eat dinner elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Breakfast brilliant 10/10 overall the Hotel and staff 7/10 Room 2/10 "Classic Room" No 207 nothing like the online desciption when booked/ on Top floor built around the roof skilling/ warning sign in the bathroom about hitting your head/ NO BATH only shower/ one of the smallest double beds I have slept in/very noisey motor on the air/con/can hear next door room people talking/on top of this the toilet got blocked/ but we did have very good weather

Room Tip: By all means go and enjoy your stay but avoid room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our WA weekend in May this year, and also there were refurbishment works going on, the hotel staff and the workers did their best to ensure the hotel guests were not disturbed. Staff were excellent, room was great, bathroom and shower were amazing and breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stop over here. Booked a club double which is advertised as being small, not sure if we were upgraded because the room certainly didn't seem small. All the refurbishments seem to have been finished and we were very impressed with the bathroom, a very good sized powerful shower. Our room, 203, overlooked the main road so was a bit noisy but traffic did ease off during the night. Kept the window (double glazed) closed and the ac didn't really seem to cool the room down. The one potential problem with this room is that it is separated from room 205 by a wooden connecting door which isn't at all sound proof. Luckily our neighbours were very quiet but we could hear the clink of tea spoons and their muted conversation. If you were unlucky enough to have 'shouters' or people with hearing problems who have the tv on loud it could be a problem. Thought the breakfast was very good with hot food being constantly replenished. They do have an undercover area to secure bikes but no CCTV or security lights.
Lyndhurst is very handy for several bike or walking trails. The New Forest Information Office has several maps or guides. Also plenty of eating places to choose from in Lyndhurst.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and dog. We've never travelled with the dog before and wrongly thought dog friendly would mean lesser quality. Check in was quick with friendly staff, all interactions with staff were positive. We were given a towel, treats etc for the dog. The room was nice and looked over the courtyard at the back of the hotel. The furniture in the room was a bit dusty but other than that the hotel appeared immaculate.
Breakfast was a buffet of hot and cold food, as we had the dog we ate in the lounge which was lovely. We had a meal on the second night in the restaurant which was excellent as was the wine.
The location is excellent, right on the high street. The hotel information in the room lists recommended pubs and tea rooms locally which was useful. At the end of the high street is an entrance to the New Forest which makes for a lovely walk. We only saw one other dog during our stay and if I was not travelling with a dog would not have guessed they were permitted in the hotel as it was clean and fresh throughout. Lovely decor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.