We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pikes Hill | Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great choice for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

A very friendly hotel, with lovely pool. ideal for a short break though I imagine very crowded if there's an event on. Laterooms deal of £110 for superior room b&b was good value if not cheap. The room was very well furnished, though a regular room would be on the small side I expect

Overall a good choice. The front desk staff were fantastic and very helpful; we ate in the restaurant where the quality of food was good if a bit unimaginative; the service in the restaurant didn't match the quality of the food though, all a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    154
    69
    29
    8
See reviews for
112
195
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Overall, we couldn't fault the Best Western Forest Lodge where we stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding package.

However, we were very disapointed upon arrival to find that our room was tiny, very out of date and shabby. The room was certainly not big enough for a couple to get ready to go to a wedding and the bathroom did not have a bath. We did not feel that the quality of the room reflected the price. Having visted a couple of the other members of the wedding party we soon discovered that our room was a bit of a blip and that, in fact, the rest of the room had been beautifully renovated to a very high standard. After an appauling first night in a very uncomfortable bed, we spoke to a member of staff who was able to upgrade us to a new room for our second night.

The second room was one of the higher standard rooms. Beautifully decorated in a modern and clean style with duck down duvet and plush bedding. The shower was fantastic and we had plenty of space. This room really felt like a luxury.

The food at the hotel was outstanding and superbly presented. The wine list was reasonable and all members of staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were well catered for. We couldn't fault the overall experience which would have been excellent had we not suffered the experience of room number 30 on our first night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOCKPORT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Had a wedding package deal Fri/Sat B&B and Fri evening meal £267. Checked in rubbish bin full,Sat a.m no soap or toilet paper.Air con on for breakfast not on for wedding reception 80 deg.Pre reception drinks orange/pimms none left after 15mins told somebody most have had two ???Glass red wine £4.85,3 teas 1 tonic and soda £11. No lunch available on arrival.1 extra egg and mushrooms £2,75. £30 allowance ea for evening in package would only buy starter and main.My wife had a recent hip replacement and was made to walk round hotel to rear garden instead of through patio doors.All about profit and easiest way for staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Expect excellent gourmet food at this establishment. Very attentive staff. Very nice rooms and a quiet setting yet located within walking distance to the center of town. Definately the place to stay when in the New Forest.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLKESTONE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 5 night break at the Forest Lodge Hotel. We was due to travel to Italy for a 2 week holiday which was cancelled on the way to the airport by British Airways. This left me with the job of finding a holiday for 4 people with no notice.
Having stayed in Best Western Hotels before i tried there web site and ended up booking a 5 night stay at the Forest Lodge. The ease of finding the Hotel and general booking process was very easy and helped to rescue a desperate situation. The hotel is on the edge of Lyndhurst and within a 5 minute walk to the main street. Our first impressions of the outside of the Hotel and the ease and friendliness of the staff soon made us forget our disappointment.
We had 2 rooms one on the Ground Floor which had been recently refurbished and one on the First Floor. Both Rooms were of a good size and were very comfortable with lovely beds.
There is a general sitting area and Bar which were both nice. There is a indoor swimming pool which looked a good size.
There are some works being carried out at the moment although these did not interfere with our stay there and once completed will make the Hotel even better
The big surprise was the Food we booked on a half board basis. The breakfast was good with a nice cooked breakfast with a number of choices. The evening meals were however Excellent and the food was not far short of some Michelin star restaurants that we have eaten in. I would particularly recommend the Scallops and Venison
The Hotel is a short distance to all the attractions of the new Forest, and i can say when we return to the New Forest we will have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A 2 night break at little notice got me a superb rate including dinner and thats what really impressed. To say outstanding is no exageration which shows it really deserves its 2 red rosettes. Everything was presented brilliantly without being too much "picture on a plate" and the staff were spot on. The public rooms were OK, swimming pool adequate. A lttle dusty when we stayed due to some room refurbishment in progress but that can't be helped. It will only impove rooms that may be described as a little tired while perfectly OK. If you stay here, then you must try the restaraunt so you dont miss the best bit!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Forest Lodge. Had read the reviews on trip advisor and have to say that we were very pleased with the hotel. Apart from a slight hiccup when checking in - room was 45 minutes late in being available to us but we were reimbursed for this. Room was great and children loved the bunk beds that pulled down from the wall. The food was excellent and the standard more to a 4* establishment than a 3*. The children swam in the pool every day. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge

Address: Pikes Hill | Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.