We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndhurst Tea House

Lyndhurst Tea House
26 High St, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BG, England
023 8028 2656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice little Tea Room. We popped in here for lunch but to wait a few minutes for a table. They were really busy. I am not surprised. The food was really nice. Although it was really busy, we still had service with a smile and the food was quick to come. Plenty of choice, all the usual stuff. Really nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    59
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over priced - basic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited here last month with a toddler - nice variety on the menu but did seem over priced I had cheese & coleslaw baguette which wasn't very tasted, mum had posh cheese & ham on toast which was 2 slices slapped on top of each other, niece had fish fingers & chips which came out boiling hot and totally flavourless - chips discussing!
Service not great - but they probably benefit from tourists rather than the locals
Doubt we will visit here again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for gluten-free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came here twice. Very nice gluten-free chocolate brownies to be had. The jacket potatoes aren't half bad, too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lyndhurst Tea House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

On a cold April day my wife and I went to have a stroll around the unofficial capital of the New Forest. Deciding we wanted a cup of tea we walked from the main car park into the High Street and right next to the Tea House. Went in for a cuppa and stayed to have a cuppa and a plate of fih and chips followed by apple pie and clotted cream.

The service was first class and none of this long wait after the order is made. The staff were polite and courteous. Service was quick and the food was very good. Pots of tea for each of us which gave us 2 cups each. Fish and chips was served with mushy peas and the apple pie or treacle tart in my wife's case was supported with a nice big dollop of clotted cream.

If I didn't feel full I might have ventured to a slice of cake then that would have been greedy.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Another great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We always stop here for breakfast after driving down from hertfordshire.
The tea house breakfast sets us up for the day nicely, the staff are always friendly, polite and helpful. Can't fault it at all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyndhurst Tea House also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Lyndhurst Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndhurst Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.