We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stag Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stag Hotel to your Saves list
Stag Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Stag is a traditional old pub and hotel in the centre of Lyndhurst, with rooms above the pub. I spent two nights in May to go cycling in the New Forest with a friend and for that this hotel is great. It is centrally located on the Lyndhurst High Street with a free car park at the back, which is a bonus. Otherwise Parking is mostly in the main Pay & Display car park opposite. We were sent an email the day before our visit to tell us how to get to the car park to avoid the traffic on the one way system.
The two nights were good value for money, including breakfast. You have to be careful when booking through Expedia as we thought we booked a double with extra single bed but were offered a double with camp bed. If you need the extra bed, best to phone in advance to check with the hotel which room you need - its not clear on the Expedia website but the Hotel said they were working on that.
The deluxe double was a large room, clean and the large double bed was comfortable, with nice bedding.The bed does get hot with the mattress protector. The bathroom was in contrast fairly small and the shower (over the bath) was a bit quirky but it was fully functional and you expect things like this in old buildings.
We had a room that looked out onto the main road at the front and if you are a very light sleeper this could be a problem as its a busy road with lorries going through sometimes late at night. I'm quite a light sleeper and managed ok in May though. Sound travels in this type of building and were woken by people coming back from a wedding on the first night but there was no noise on Day 2.
Breakfast was a choice of full English Breakfast, toast, cereals, yoghurts and fruit, with juice and tea and filter coffee.
The pub downstairs is traditional and fairly dark with displays of collectable items on the walls and was quiet when we were there. Mostly people having an evening meal and a quiet drink and there is no loud music or too much noise, which is what you want if you are staying upstairs or want to relax.
There is an outdoor terrace at the back to enjoy a drink or meal after a long cycle or day out - the plants could do with some TLC..
It is 15 minutes drive to Brockenhurst or Burley to hire bikes and head off onto the cycle tracks.
All in all it was a good place to stay for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
58
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at the Stag for one night in May 2014. The room we were allocated was small and overlooked the side of the hotel. We could see the fire escape of the pub next door from our room. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding and good pillows. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The water was hot, the towels were good quality and the bathroom was a good size. The pub was on the main road through Lyndhurst. The road was busy during the day but quietened down at night. I would imagine it would be a lot busier in the summer months. The breakfast was very good however, there was no menu to chose from, which seemed strange. We had a full English breakfast. The bacon, eggs etc. were all of a good quality. The pub was very quiet in the evening but we did stay on a Wednesday night. The pub was really nice, traditional, and the pub food looked good though we didn't eat there. If we had been staying for more than one night I would have asked for a alternative room (one a bit bigger and with a better outlook) but as we were only there for one night we didn't bother.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Four of us stayed here in May 2014 while visiting from Canada. Lovely pub, excellent rooms, good food and friendly staff. Really enjoyed the area. Lyndhurst is an interesting old town and the area attractions (Sammy Miller motorcycle museum of special note) are well worth a visit. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights here over Easter. The initial impression was how friendly all the staff were.
The second impression was the high standard of the room.
The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent - cooked to order and good quality ingredients.
We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on that.
I am hard to please but I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I took a two day walking break in the New Forest. I regularly stay at another hotel in Lyndhurst, which was full, but a room was available at the Stag (single rooms are rather hard to find in the area). A previous review described the single room as very small and on the top floor, which I was prepared to accept, but a very pleasant and friendly lady on reception upgraded my room to a comfortable double on the first floor, at no extra cost. There is no lift. There was a wide choice (including vegetarian) for dinner; typical pub grub food - nothing special but absolutely acceptable, served in a tasteful restaurant by friendly staff. I only stayed one night but found it very pleasant, and very reasonably priced for the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable. The heating, however, was dreadful. Firstly in the bedroom, we could not adjust the radiators down for the night and had to leave windows open. In the restaurant, it was the opposite. Some radiators didn't work. Others were not turned on, in deep frost in mid-January. We huddled over one that was functioning for our meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for New Year Eve/Day as a quiet and tranquil bolt hole to wind down and relax after a busy Christmas. The choice of hotel was perfect and fitted our brief exactly. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and happy to help us with getting around Lyndhurst and the New Forest walks. Our room was light and clean with fresh bed linen and the bathroom was sparkly clean with plenty of fresh towels, the room also had a great aspect overlooking the High Street, we were concerned we might get traffic noise but need not have worried. Perfect.
We chose to eat in the pub in the evening, the menu was varied, amazing value and freshly cooked. Breakfast was traditional "full English" and very welcome.
Our first visit to the New Forest, but not our last and we will happily re-book at the Stag.

Room Tip: Recommend room no. 7, it's a good sized room and has a large bay window and side window letting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stag Hotel

Address: 69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices.If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished.Much of our food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stag Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.