We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stag Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stag Hotel to your Saves list
Stag Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Chelmsford Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed last night, very friendly staff, room very clean and breakfast great.
Good value for money I would not hesitate to recommend it.
Read the reviews on trip advisor before we booked. If you listen really hard you can hear noise from downstairs !! The car park is a nightmare to find if you have no sense of direction !! you can smell cooking from the kitchen if you open the window and smell hard !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
58
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Stag for a weekend break with a large group of friends, including 14 children. The staff were welcoming and very helpful when it came to asking for information about walks/shops/playgrounds etc in the area and catering for our large group. The food in the pub was good and so was the breakfast. The rooms are all different, ours was a good sized twin with an en-suite. The room was clean and set up nicely with dressing table, wardrobe, TV, kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the New Forest. Walking from the hotel with a map from the New Forest visitor centre, which is opposite in a car park, we did a 6 mile walk and saw deer, pigs, horses and donkeys.

The Stag has a large car park on Welland Roads, which runs parallel to the High Street.

We really enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in it, but room 1 looked like the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at The Stag Hotel for a weekend. The location is great, right on the High Street, the food was good, the service was reasonably good and the room was comfortably as well as spotlessly clean. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

However, finding the car park is a NIGHTMARE! If you get stuck in Lyndhurst's one way system it can take forever to get round a very small town!!

For future visitors, if you're arriving from the direction of Cadnam, DO NOT go through the traffic lights and on to the High Street as the hotel suggests. Instead, as you approach the traffic lights, turn LEFT down Welland Road (about 50 yards before the lights). The Stag Hotel car park is on the right almost at the end of the road just before it bears left and there is access to the rear of the Hotel from the car park. Much easier than pulling up on a garage forecourt and getting instructions from the Hotel staff only to find you have to navigate the one way system!!!

Room Tip: I noticed that some people had found rooms at the front of the Hotel noisy but we certainly didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Stag in Lyndhurst as a base for exploring The New Forest and surrounding areas.Location is excellent and the hotel itself was good value for money.As several other reviewers have stated,good wholesome English breakfast included in the £80 per night rate for double/twin room with good food served in the evening if you decide to eat in.Room was clean and comfortable but as others have mentioned,traffic noise was a bit of a nuisance,particularly early morning....although this did not spoil our stay there.
One issue we had with the Stag....and almost every pub/bar we went into......was the fact that they are all equipped as dining rooms at the expense of the pub atmosphere where at one time you could sit in a comfy chair and enjoy a drink in a chilled atmosphere rather than on a hard straight backed dining chair at a wooden dining table.After a full day out travelling you need to come back to base,have a few drinks in a comfortable,relaxed atmosphere and not feel you are not sat in a dining room for the night.Must stress though this is not a criticism specifically aimed at the Stag but merely an observation of the pubs we went into throughout our stay.Would like to thank previous trip advisors for the tip regarding the car park at the Stag and its location....travellers take note!!Overall,enjoyed the Stag and found it a pleasant stay and value for money

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisey due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

the food here is very good the game pudding lovely but.......you must have at least 2-3 hours to spare we ordered our food and paid over the bar and waited and waited and waited if it wasn't for fact that we had paid for the meal we would have left eventually we had to threaten to demand our money back the meal arrived then the bar man kept coming up and asking if all was ok . will give a miss next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at the Stag Hotel, Lyndhurst for one night on 30/08/2012. Nice town and well worth a visit. The room was comfortable with en-suite and complimentary water, tea and coffee. The full English breakfast was included in the price. Service with a smile from the staff at all times and overall, a very pleasant stay. Free parking included at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms from what we could see were of very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A local pub/hotel in a great position in the town. Lyndhurst is a nightmare to drive through. If you approach from Cadnam turn left just before the traffic lights for the hotel car park otherwise you will face a 35 minute drive round the one way system to get back to it.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are great (August 2012) Breakfasts are very good but perhaps not the best place to eat in the evening.

Room Tip: The main road is noisy if you are on the front of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stag Hotel

Address: 69 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices.If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished.Much of our food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable.The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stag Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.