We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Inn

The Oak Inn
Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7FD, England
02380 282350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oak Inn is a quintessential award-winning country pub, famous for its fresh, locally-sourced food. In the heart of the beautiful New Forest, it has a wide range of wines and a selection of ever-changing real ales. As well as a glorious al fresco garden, cosy open fires are found indoors.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stopped in here on bank holiday Monday hoping for an early dinner. Wasn't sure they would be serving food at 5pm on a holiday but thankfully they were. First impression is of a lovely country pub and it doesn't disappoint at all. Staff were fantastic, food was great, great quality and plenty of it. Great choice of beers, including HSB :-). All in a fantastic setting. Will definitely go back. Highly recommended. Could go on for ages about how good this place was but that would be boring.......just go there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    148
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I can't believe I've lived 5 mins away from here for the past 6 years and have only just gone here on the recommendation of a friend. WHAT a gem. The setting is absolutely fab, I'm used to being in the forest but this is so quaint. It was absolutely heaving (a Sunday night) but we had booked, which seems almost a necessity. The staff were ever so friendly and the service was efficient but not rushed. The food - mine was from the specials board and was spectacular; there are more bog standard items such as pie but it's presented brilliantly and good sized portions. The only minor let down for me was the pud, I had crumble which wasn't the best. We had starters, mains, desserts and wine and it was extremely reasonable, around £120 for 3 of us. This is my new favourite without a doubt, already booked to go back later this week. If you're in the area do give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Oak is just what you would want and expect of a Country / Forest Pub. Welcoming, friendly, great food and service and no still dining time restrictions. One of the best pints of Guinness I have been served. Small and very busy so you should book. Dogs welcome also and water and biscuits ready for our four legged friends. Heated outdoor covered area also. Visit...you will not be disappointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Popped in here for lunch whilst out walking in the Forest. Really friendly welcome from the barman (manager??) and lovely waitresses. The pub was very busy so is obviously popular particularly with walkers but the food didn't really live up to the prices bring charged. Nearly £13.00 for a beef burger? A bowl of garlic mushrooms for just under £7.00? Nice location and pleasant interior but prices far too high.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food in a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I went here for dinner one night while staying at the nearby Lime Wood Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and thought that the standard and choice of food was excellent. The night we went there as a very "local" atmosphere and the gentleman who served us could not have been nicer. We would definitely return again if in the area and we highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.