We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndhurst House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lyndhurst House to your Saves list
Lyndhurst House
35 Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at Lyndhurst House on 14th September,we were there for our first wedding aniversary and wanted to be in the heart of the New forest to celebrate. Peter and Nancy were there to welcome us and we felt instantly at home. We had a lovely room in the roof conversion so my husband had to mind his head but it was quirky and we loved it. We were given tips on where to go on walks and advised us on a lovely Italian resteraunt for our aniversary meal. We had a lovely evening and breakfast the next day was awesome and the thing we liked most was they called us by our first names which was like we were family. Everything was so clean and the house was like family coming to visit not paying guests. On the night of our aniversary we had dinner booked for 8pm and as we were leaving we couldnt get the car out as another had blocked us in. Peter went out of his way to take us to the restaurent and insisted on picking us up after,talk about the extra mile,we couldnt get over it and when we got back to our room there was a note and a bottle of sparkling waiting for us from Peter and Nancy too. Thank you guys we had a lovely stay for our special first anniversary. Karl & Lisa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Manager at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you Karl & Lisa for celebrating your Anniversary at Lyndhurst House we hope you have many more to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
113
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent a couple of days at Lyndhurst House last weekend. Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Nice room, clean and tidy. Made use of the Chill Out room ( Spa, Hot Tub and massage chairs ! ). Perfect picturesque little village - could do with a by-pass though - traffic builds from fairly early and goes straight through the main centre for most of the day.
Lovely pubs, especially the Waterloo Arms (10% discount for Lyndhurst House guests ) where the puddings are home made ! Breakfast was good, plenty of coffee and toast. Pete and Nancy are lovely and make you feel like family. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Manager at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we hope you will return to Lyndhurst House in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

what a great place to spend a few days,we had a lovely time,peter and nancy were the perfect hosts.
it was clean and tidy,the breakfast was spot on,peter even gave me a rose to give to my wife when we enjoyed our champagne on our anniversary.
the town was lovely too,lovely food and plenty of restaurants and pubs,we will definitely be returning to Lyndhurst house next year.
many thanks to peter and nancy for making it a lovely anniversarybreak
phil and paula

Room Tip: room with the four poster bed at the front was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Manager at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you Phil & Paula
It was so nice of you to write a kind review we hope you will return to Lyndhurst House sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for two nights. From the moment you knock on the door to the moment you leave, you feel like your part of the family. It met all my expectations n more, very clean, relaxing, lovely breakfast, perfect hosts and great location and spot on value for money. Have tried a few other B&B's before finding Lyndhurst house a couple of years ago and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Manager at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words we try to make everyone who stays here feel welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can only echo the other great reviews written by previous guests who have visited Lyndhurst House B&B. It is owned and run by Peter and Nancy who are without doubt the best hosts you will meet anywhere you may care to visit - their friendliness and attention to detail made our short stay a memorable experience. Their accommodation is well situated on the outskirts of Lyndhurst (three minute walk to centre) and provides clean, quiet well equipped rooms with newly installed en suite facilities. An excellent breakfast is served daily specifically tailored to guests requirements. Undoubtedly, the entire experience of our stay at Lyndhurst House was a pleasant one and one we would be happy to recommend to any future potential guests.

Room Tip: With at least two of the guests rooms being three stories up, any potential guest when booking who m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you Tony & Val it was our pleasure it's guests like you that make it all worthwhile hope to see you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great time at Lyndhurst House. Lovely and quiet, lovely bedroom and very clean, great breakfast, fantastic service and very well positioned. Definately the B and B to use in the New Forest - we can't help thinking that we would be very disappointed if we stayed elsewhere. Peter and Nancy really are the perfect couple to run a B & B. Thank you - hope to stay with you again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was very quiet - we couldn't hear any road noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Manager at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review we appreciate the time you have taken to write this and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Peter and Nancy were very welcoming and very helpful with their local knowledge. The Waterloo Arms pub they recommended served great food and had a good range of beer all at sensible prices. The breakfast was superb and meant that we never actually bought lunch any of the three days we stayed! Our room was very clean and bed and towels changed daily which was much better than many more expensive places we've stayed. Filtered drinking water on tap was also an unexpected bonus in hot weather. Whilst the room was a little warm being at the top of the house and hot weather, there was a super fan which quickly cooled the place down. Although close to the road, the traffic noise wasn't a problem even though it was busy due to the New Forest Show and the onsite parking was convenient. Being only a five minute walk from the main high street, meant that it was easy to take advantage of the varied eating places available. Also made use of the spa facility - brilliantly relaxing!! Do it! So good after a day walking or cycling. Will definitely consider using again if back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L, Owner at Lyndhurst House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your thorough and very positive review. We hope to see you here again at Lyndhurst House.

Glad you enjoyed your session in the Spa, especially as so few guest houses can offer this facility and it's nice to know that you appreciated it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndhurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst House

Address: 35 Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B in Lyndhurst offers comfortable accommodation and a warm and relaxing atmosphere for you to enjoy your New Forest break. Lyndhurst House was built in the early 1920's and is a short stroll from Lyndhurst town with a fine selection of restaurants serving international cusine. Whether you are here on business or relaxing on a short break, Peter & Nancy look forward to welcoming you and will ensure that you have a memorable stay with us.This New Forest B&B has 1 Luxurious Four Poster Double bedrooms 1st floor and 2 Double bedrooms all with en-suite and Hairdryer Safe TV with DVD and complimentary Tea and coffee tray and toiletries. Lyndhurst House is the ideal place for you to enjoy the beauty of The New Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lyndhurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst House New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndhurst House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.