We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

La Pergola
Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park SO43 7BQ, England
023 8028 4184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Noisy but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As always I find this restaurant noisy however the service and food make up for this. Great selection of desserts.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    130
    44
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was the best restaurant we visited in Lyndhurst. Excellent choice of dishes (including extensive specials board) and very tempting desserts. Combine this with a great atmosphere and friendly service and one can see why La Pergola is so popular. I did find the wine list a bit limited, although the Gavi that we had was very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Will definitely return...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate here on the the of Jan. The car park was heaving and we were lucky to get a table on spec. What a fantastic restaurant. Service was great - atmosphere as well - but the food was truly excellent. The seafood pasta (which you must try) was the best I have ever had. The wine was great (try the Barbera) and the bill was reasonable. Will definitely return to this excellent authentic Italian restaurant. What a find...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on Saturday evening. The place was packed at just gone 7pm and we were glad we booked and I would suggest doing so.

Our waitress was lovely and the people say around us were also chatty with was also nice. The menu is not huge but it had everything I would have wanted. I always struggle with main courses at Italian restaurant because I always want most things. The fact you can have a smaller version of a main course pasta dish as a starter eased that issue.

The food was lovely and we didn't have to wait too long considering it is packed. Drinks were reasonable in price. The meals were a little bit pricey but we paid 70 pounds for a three course meal with two rounds of soft drinks as a couple. So all in all not too bad.

This is a fine place to eat and we would go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Family of 8 for diner, fantastic service, gorgeous food and a lovely Italian atmosphere. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergola also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.