We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ely

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ely to your Saves list
The Ely
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road (A30) | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this at the last minute for a good price just to visit family nearby. The hotel section is a new building at the back, with quite a lot of car parking available.

The room was excellent and cannot fault at all. It was very big and quiet and also warm.
Breakfast was really good too.

We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was exceptional. The service was superb and all for a good price too. Thanks to everyone at the hotel and restaurant for making this such a comfortable and pleasant experience.
We would definately recommend this hotel (particularly at the price we paid) and will certainly stay again to break up our trips.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your feedback which I will share with the Team , really pleased you enjoyed your Breakfast Buffet which we too think is great..thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    121
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
69
111
10
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our son booked us in there when we (my husband) went down to help him fit a new boiler. They don't have a spare room and this hotel is just 3 miles away. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and all the staff had a smile for you. The food was excellent. Breakfast was basically a cold buffet but hot breakfasts were cooked to order. A super idea as no-one really likes getting the last of anything from a hot buffet. If something wasn't ther, one simply asked and it appeared with a smile. We also ate there oe night with the family and had a wonderful meal. well done Ely, we will come back.

Room Tip: All rooms were very quiet, It is not a particularly busy road. Most rooms face away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your really lovely comments which I will share with the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

just off the m3,half an hour to heathrow,superb rooms and food,breakfast very good,stayed in a lot of hotels,family and friends will say i am ocd with cleaning,but the staff here could out clean me!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Ely, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

having been to the Ely a number of times you can guess we like it. comfortable room with everything on hand, the staff, from reception to housekeepers and restaurant staff are always pleasant and helpful and go the extra mile. this time we stayed we got caught out by a wedding party which was fine as that goes, but the revellers went on in the corridors till the early hours. the reception when asked did speak to them and it went a quite but our room being near the entrance got the smoking crew screaming with laughter. so all in all next time we stay i will ask to be placed away from the wedding party. the reception could perhaps put all the wedding guests on one corridor so they could carry on as they like. very loose floorboards on the room above didn.t help either. can,t remember it being this noisy on other occasions.

Room Tip: check for a wedding and stay on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I just stayed here for 4 nights. We found the staff to be their greatest asset - they had a 'can do' attitude. Our breakfast each morning was fantastic - high quality food well cooked. Thank you the Ely!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We go to The Ely alot, we have dinner and we also come for a drink from time to time but the staff are always the highlight of are visit we are known by name and they also know what we drink which I feel is really good for the amount of people that come to The Ely. I would recommend The Ely to anyone.

The food is good for money and is lovely at the same time I would go for the lamb shank if you go it is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Booked this hotel because it was near our son in Sandhurst staying two nights. We had a lovely visit. Everyone was so helpful and so hardworking from the receptionist, bar staff,waitresses to cleaners. Room was clean and large,as was the bed, which had lovely white linen, In the evening, we had the special offer meal for two which was delicious and exceptional value, stayed in bar after to have nightcap. Breakfast was fantastic and couldn't be faulted As it was midweek break we had a special price which was a fantastic deal. Our other son intends to visit next week and we have recommended The Ely for his family knowing he will enjoy the visit. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ely

Address: London Road (A30) | Blackwater, Camberley, Yateley GU17 9LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Yateley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yateley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ely 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Ely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ely Hotel Yateley
Ely Hotel Yateley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ely, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.