We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless service,fantastic food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Lions

The Three Lions
0.5m SE of Fordingbridge, off A338, Stuckton, New Forest National Park, Fordingbridge SP6 2HF, England
(01425) 652489
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stuckton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $52 - $206
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A family owned & run English Auberge where you can come & go without the formality of a hotel.Owner Mike,previously a Michelin stared chef of five years,creates rustic,yet sophisticated dishes using local & foragedforest produce.Wife Jayne provides a professional & caring,but informalservice in the restaurant. We are family & dog friendly,providing free Wi/Fi & free use of our hot tub in the garden. We have been 3 times Hampshire Restaurant of the Year with the Good Food Guide & this year 2012,we are in the Telegraphs top 150 restaurants in the UK.We look forward to seeing you soon,Best Wishes from all the family.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“faultless service,fantastic food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A group of us stayed over the weekend, what followed would be food and service most top hotels could learn from.Staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, and then came the food ! the full english with the freshly baked homemade bread should have given us a clue they knew their stuff, awesome doesn't begin to describe it.Sunday lunch was a delight 15 of us had about 8 different meals from a clever and varied menu.Meals all came out within a minute of each other and everyone wanted to praise the chef.The guy is an understated genius.
will defiantly be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    12
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food - friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perhaps the decor is a little dated for some tastes - but personally I visits restaurants for the food . This restaurant is not trying to out do fancy city restaurants with chic furnishings but has a cosy country feel.

The food is well worth the visit. Fresh locally sourced fare. We went for the mid week special lunch board which offers great value for money and our main course had an added garnish of fresh wild garlic flowers straight from the garden - you can't get fresher than this. At just under £23 for 3 great courses and food at its best. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brmb
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“super food and friendly courteous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were in a party of 24 folk at this restaurant and quite simply the whole expereince is one of friendly but proffesional service acompanying top quality food,

rooms are clean and comfortable if a little expensive if you stop over, but for the dining experience it is worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury,
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as it should be given the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

There seem to be two views of the Three Lions: that it's expensive and worth it; and that it's expensive but not worth it. I think we are in the second camp.

Of course there is much to admire: the staff are friendly, the atmosphere warm, and some of the cooking is really good - this is not just an ordinary pub serving pub food such as you find in every village round here. When we were there the beef and the lamb were really quite special.

But at over £10 for starters and over £20 for mains the food did not quite have the wow factor we might have expected.Some of the starters and puddings were not much better than ordinary. And the dining room certainly didn't justify the price tag - ordinary pine tables, 1970s carpet, run of the mill tableware, all of which would have been fine if it cost less than it did.

i suppose the issue is that, for us, the overall experience of eating there was not really a £60 per head+ experience. Though clearly many other reviewers disagree.

I hope that the management take this in the spirit intended. the last time a reviewer made much the same points ("Highly disappointing and over priced" by Paul L in August 2013) the response was quite inappropriate and unworthy. Mine is an honest opinion from an experienced reviewer and i hope it will be respected.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
micky321, Owner at The Three Lions, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I really do not understand how you got to £60 + for 3 courses.Our most extreme combination is £47 & least £35.That aside,I think what is unethical & which I do not respect,is the practise of highlighting another reviewer to give weight to their own opinions,especially,as in this case,where we contested its validity, believing it to be from a competitor.
Its rather like me drawing attention to the great review just before yours from a very experienced reviewer,who thankfully represents 95% of customers in the first camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Took a client to this establishment as an end of project celebration. The Three Lions has an excellent menue of locally sourced food items and an incredibly creative chef. The service and food was outstanding and I woudl recommend this place to anyone wanting an extra special meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Lions also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Three Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Lions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.