We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luckily Local.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
31 High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EY, England
01264 810833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Price range: $51 - $206
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luckily Local.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Lunch at the Greyhound was a relaxed with efficient service. Large Christmas party in restaurant,so we ate in the bar, very cosy with log fire. Kedgeree was excellent as was my companions burger. Will be visiting again.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perceptions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Went to this pub with great expectations but unfortunately was somewhat disappointed . The staff were friendly enough but it took them 15 minutes to change a barrel of beer which they eventually remembered we'd ordered & they also had little knowledge of the menu. The food was decent enough but not special considering the restaurant prices followed by the waiter forgetting the promise of bread with our meal ( he seemed more interested in talking to his friends at the bar).so all in all a very average experience at a more than average price!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Went to the Greyhound on the test at lunch time today and i am telling you i wasn't expecting that! The food was really nice and cooked to perfection. My parsnip soup with honey and parsnip crisps was so smooth and sweet with the crunchyness of the crisps! My main course, chicken with curly Kale, sauteed potatoes and black pudding was very tasty and the chicken with crispy skin was one of the best chicken i've had for a long time. My dessert, Banoffee pudding was just amazing. I would have probably switched the clotted cream with ice cream to balance the sweetness and richeness of the dessert. Overall, great food, efficient service and nice atmosphere with pleasant music and fireplace! Will definately return, very soon...

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovley staff and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I visited with a friend and although we hadn't booked the staff were very accommodating and found us a table in the bar- which when we peeped at the restaurant on the way out- we think we preferred! We both had the Hake special which was absolutely delicious and a super glass of Merlot too shame I was driving and could only have one glass.
My only comment was that we should have asked the price for the special ( or maybe it could have been displayed?) as it was quite expensive but there weren't extras to pay for veg or service charge so didn't mind too much.
Will definitely come again and hopefully not have to drive!
Verity Lawrence

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Popped in here for a pint, pub was lovely and warm, very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Good pint Greyhound ale.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greyhound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.