We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to wind down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayfly Riverside Pub

The Mayfly Riverside Pub
The Inn by the River | Testcombe, Stockbridge, England
01264860283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A place to wind down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Situated on the banks of the River Test this pub/restaurant is a really nice place to stop off at. Good range of drinks and a limited but comprehensive menu. The steak that i enjoyed was particularly worth the money. Having said that it is a tad on the expensive side and it was not overly busy on the Saturday night that we ate there. The only menu is on a single blackboard which means a trek from the seating area. There is also no service to tables for drinks which is a bit of an inconvenience if one want replenishing halfway through a meal to have to go and queue at the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    90
    49
    35
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Setting, Staff, Service...and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Primarily The Mayfly is a public house that offers a fine selection of freshly cooked meals made to order. None of your frozen rubbish here.

On our visit, the weather was superb which enhanced The Mayflys setting beside the River Test all the more attractive. Stunning views from the garden could be enjoyed whilst drinking, or dining.

The staff were very welcoming, often going beyond the call of duty, whilst the kitchen staff handled over 250 covers during a rush period that stretched from lunch to early evening.

For those who just drop in for a drink, again good ales, wine, and other beverages are on offer.

We have visited several times since we first discovered this rare gem last year and will continue to do so for a long time to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“bitterly disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Mayfly used to be a very good pub which one visited from time to time as a treat. It is now an overpriced disappointment, trading on its wonderful location but with poor food and quite appalling customer care. We waited 45 minutes for our meal; at 30 minutes we asked why but received no response. At 43 minutes we were told that "we should have been told it would be slow". 2 of the 3 meals, when they arrived, were swimming in sauce- in one case this "marinade" was simply oil. I had the temerity to complain. The manager, aged about 25, wished to have a conversation rather than listen to my complaint. The owner, when she eventually arrived, was graceless and unapologetic finally agreeing to refund the price of one meal. They charge restaurant prices - it is not worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Have been here once before and had a good meal.
Went again today with 3 friends for a late Sunday lunch.
The food portions are great and loads of beg,food came out hot and with loads of flavor.
It's a great place to sit and relax.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gutted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We tried really hard to like the Mayfly.

It’s the pub I remember visiting with my dad as a child, staring in wonderment at the trout in the Test as we fed them. Sadly the pub cynically trades on the enviable location and heritage, not the food or service.

The carvery style offering is a throw back to a bad 1970’s comedy. Without the laughs.

At busy times crowds jostle for position around a single chalk board fighting to see what’s on offer. In the meantime a recon team has to be dispatched to secure some seating in the event you wind up ordering food - but have nowhere to sit and eat it.

Just when you think it can’t get any worse, you discover you can’t order your drinks with the food. That requires a trip to yet another till where you can queue yet again for an interminable amount of time as you lose the will to live, let alone eat.

Quite why this torturous, CIA inspired ordering process has been devised is hard to fathom, unless its to reduce the staffing costs they might incur from running the far better table service which should be on offer. Even the Taliban would flinch at the high pain threshold required to get through the experience.

The food itself was bog standard pre-packaged pub fayre which - when the stress involved in ordering it is taken into account - is unforgiveable. It certainly wasn’t exceptional or memorable enough to make it worth the suffering.

To cap it off, staff appeared indifferent and children were treated with disdain.

This should be a drop dead, knockout establishment. Instead its a great location in search of a great manager.

The trout in the river currently have the better deal.

Gutted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayfly Riverside Pub also viewed

Houghton, Stockbridge
Stockbridge, Hampshire
 
Stockbridge, Hampshire
Pewsey, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Mayfly Riverside Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayfly Riverside Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.