We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute restaurant with wonderfully cooked food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berties Restaurant & Bar

Berties Restaurant & Bar
80 The Hundred, Romsey SO51 8BX, England
01794-830708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 68 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant with wonderfully cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My Mum and I visited Berties this week, for a birthday celebration. We had a VOUCHERCLOUD which was 2 FOR 1 MAIN COURSES. Excellent way to start as this restaurant is quite pricey. We both ordered fillet steak (£19.95) which came with chips, tomato, mushroom and some garnish.. very very nice piece of meat. Soft drinks are very reasonable, wine not so much so at £6 ish for a large glass.

The service could not be faulted. Very friendly staff, quick and more than happy to help.

I think there is limited car parking at the restaurant but there's a big car park a short walk away, which is free of charge in the evenings so no problem!

Will definitely be returning and would recommed Berties restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    57
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife has just had lunch at this restaurant and came away disgusted with the food and the attitude of the manager. This was not her first visit, and previous visits have encountered good food and service so something must be wrong at the moment, either a poor chef, manager or both. Her dish of mushroom pasta with smoked cheese crumble was devoid of any sauce and was inedible. When she complained to the manager his reply was "oh" and went into the kitchen but did not come back and offer a replacement meal or alternative.
I am disappointed with the restaurant for the above and my wife for paying for something she didn't eat.
Service was very slow, and the only positive was that her friends main course was very nice but her dessert below standard.
We normally visit this restaurant once every 2-3 months but will never be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Berties Restaurant at Romsey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Found this resaurant after visiting other venues around the Romsey area and what a good piece of luck that was. Two courses for £15 per couple with a bottle of house wine thrown in. The food was freshly cooked, very well presented and served by an accomplished waiter. It was very tasty and the portions reasonable. Will definitly return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good well cooked and presented food. Would recommend a visit. I would defiantly book, as its popular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back for our september family and friends party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went back to Berties after being there in June, booked all the rooms and a meal for sat 29th for 25 guests in the function room, went on friday 28th to do last minute organising, had lunch there on friday, had croque monsieur which is a lovely melted cheese sandwich with an egg on top, different but so tasty. the staff looked after us from the minute we walked through the door. we also ate there on friday night, we took in the simply Berties menu which they do on some nights, very well priced and extremely tasty, The evening of our party David and his staff liased with me to discuss our personal requirements regarding the bar and wine and timing of the service. it all went very well and i thank them for that, breakfast both days was great. and on our day of departure David was very kind to accommodate my elderly parents whilst our party went for a walk in the new forest. It is a very good venue and will use it again when we are in that area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berties Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Berties Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berties Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.