We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality meal, if a little slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purbani Restaurant

Purbani Restaurant
11 Bell Street, Romsey SO51 8GY, England
+44 1794 522107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 68 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: $27 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Purbani, The Romsey Tandoori At the Romsey Purbani we have been serving our customers for over 27 years. This award-winning Indian restaurant on Bell Street, in the heart of the ancient and Indian Food in Romsey prosperous market town of Romsey, continues to be an icon of Indian cuisine and excellent dinning in the town and throughout the county. Excellent Indian Cuisine in Romsey Our head chef and his team provide a classic combination of expert knowledge, unique culinary experience and traditional values that combine to provide the best of Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. The Romsey Purbani offers an excellent dining experience with effortlessly charming staff, friendly service and tantalising food that few can compete with. Ths is the combination that has ensured our clientele have returned to us again and again.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quality meal, if a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were the first diners at 6pm. The starter came promptly but it took until 6.45 for the main courses to arrive. Just a small moan which should be put in context. The meals were very tasty and filling and we will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    12
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN CUISINE IN ROMSEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Have tried other Indian Restaurants in Romsey but always end up back at the Purbani. Best food and atmosphere of them all - for both couples or families. You cannot go wrong eating here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been here several times since I moved to Romsey and it is fantastic. Great food, friendly service and also great for takeaway as well. Look no further if you want Indian food in Romsey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Best by far...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Purbani in Romsey is simply the best Indian restaurant in Romsey and indeed my favourite anywhere. I've been coming here for years and every time your made to feel just as welcome,it's almost like going to have a meal with family as all the staff there are so friendly,they make a point of getting to know who you are so on a return visit you're welcomed by name,a lovely touch. Having never really been a curry person or indeed 'hot' food I first visited with trepidation,however after I needn't of worried as after informing them of my allergic ness to coconut they suggested a dish that I would enjoy without fear of 'blowing my head off!' I DID thoroughly enjoy it,so much so that many years later it still is my dish of choice and now is affectionately known by all the staff as 'Macca's green curry!!' No need to ever ask what I want anymore,it just arrives!! In short the food is beautiful,having taken friends there that are far more curry connoisseurs than i am everyone have commented on how that was one of if not the best Indian meals they've ever had,high praise indeed. The surroundings are beautifully decorated,especially after a recent refurbishment,and last but not least,in fact possibly the most is the staff,i defy you not to love these guys,so,so friendly they are absolutely fantastic!Don't take my word for it though,get yourself down there and enjoy it for yourself.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great evening out with family & friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wow Purbani was busy - was just buzzing .... We've been here numerous times and its always good so we were pleased to see them being so popular even during hard times.

Very wide range off the menu...some special dishes need 24hrs notice...but we often go for a pre configured meal for "x" people and have never been let down.

Staff are friendly - the boss keeps a close eye on service and always finds time to chat.

Family chain - Botley, Romsey, Stockbridge. Been around for 20+ years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purbani Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Purbani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purbani Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.